Visit to a Hacienda and Dad is Here!


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Something very sad has happened...after over a week of taking a ton of pictures of my dad and I's adventures, my memory card in my digital camera broke! NOOOO! So, well, I don't have a lot of pictures. Dad arrived on August 1st, which is always funny to Ronnie and I as we said no visitors in July and the first opportunity my pops gets, he is here. It is a great joy to have someone from home visiting. Both Ronnie and I were so excited to spend time with him. He has been staying at Casa Luna and we have been lucky enough to attend several breakfasts there.

We have been so busy everyday showing him the ropes, our town, many markets and el centro. Dad keeps saying it is not what he expected, but has been enjoying every minute here. We have been to several restaurants (La Posadita, Market Bistro, Hecho en Mexico and Cafe de la Parroqia). We have also had lots of fun at our casita cooking dinners and playing cards.

A couple days ago, dad and I took a day trip to Guanajuato and went to the great history museum they have there. I
A Sweet BurroA Sweet BurroA Sweet Burro

They like their head being scratched
love Guanajuato. It is so beautiful and European. There are also very few gringos and a lot of college students as it has a large college spread out throughout the town. It is also the state capital and the birth place of Diego Rivera.

Yesterday, our good friend Dianne brought us out to her amazing Hacienda. It is about a 20 minute drive outside of town and an absolute dream. We saw it last year when it was still being built, but to see it now is just astounding. She also has an organic garden, three huge cooking areas, three bedrooms and a spa that leads to a pool. AMAZING. There are also many animals like burros and dogs running around. Soon, the sky cracked open and it started to POUR! So we sat in the covered area and sipped Cafe de Olla. It felt like we were in a movie.

In other news I have started my level 2 of Spanish. It is already difficult, but as with the first class, everything I learn, I am able to use. I was so proud...the other night I spoke all the way home in Spanish to my taxi driver. And again to a taxi that was driving the three of us out to the hot springs. (La Gruta). So though having homework is no fun, being able to communicate is.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

From an old chapel From an old chapel
From an old chapel

This area is used for weddings
Ronnie Looking Out on the RainRonnie Looking Out on the Rain
Ronnie Looking Out on the Rain

with his cup of Cafe de Olla
Dad and IDad and I
Dad and I

realxing
View from main roomView from main room
View from main room

out to the hills


8th August 2008

Happy Times
Leave it to your dad to be the first to visit! He is such a great guy. I am glad you are having an amazing time with him. Have a great weekend...
8th August 2008

hacienda
I missed your blog!! The images from the Hacienda are just.... stunning. Amazing stuff!
9th August 2008

Glad you're back.
Hi Julie, we're glad your back, we've really missed your blog. Too bad about the camera, you always post such great pictures. Hope you guys have a great time with your dad. N+L.
9th August 2008

Glad to be back
Thanks for all the kind comments everyone!
14th August 2008

hey!
That stinks about your camera - you've had that thing since we went to Japan in like 2003 so I guess it was time. I totally want to visit you guys but I'm so broke it isn't even funny. Thanks for sharing... sounds wonderful!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb