Adios Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
December 10th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Señora Fatima and meSeñora Fatima and meSeñora Fatima and me

at the Thanksgiving dinner
Hola

Well, I only have a few days left here in Mexico, as I head home on Friday. The time has gone by oh so quickly...

The last couple weeks, I've just been relaxing and enjoying my time here, and spending lots of time with the family. Two weeks ago we had a Thanksgiving dinner for the ISA students and their families. The food was great but it just wasn't the same. But it was nice to at least celebrate the holiday. That weekend I had to say goodbye to a lot of my friends, who were leaving to travel before heading home. It was really hard to say goodbye to these people that I have spent the whole semester with, realizing that I probably won't see most of them ever again.

That weekend Jesús and I helped Señora Fatima decorate the house for Christmas. We put up the tree and decorated it, and hung many things around the house. My favorite part was the fact that they just hot glue stuff to the walls. I guess at least there's no nail holes.

Last week I spent in Leon with Jesús and we just hung out and did this and that - went to some movies, ate my favorite foods there, and did some souvenir shopping. Of course that week went by really fast. Over the weekend I didn't do too much, just spent time with the family and ate more of my favorite foods, including Jesús' homemade pizza, Señora Fatima's "meat cake", and lots of Japonese nuts (my new favorite nuts - that aren't sold in the US...grr). I really can't explain enough how much I am going to miss the food here in Mexico.

This week I've been finishing up my gift shopping and enjoying the city, time with my family, and of course the food haha. Yesterday was Julia's 3rd birthday, so we had a special dinner, piñata breaking, and cake eating.

I'm going to start packing tonight, well maybe. I really am not ready to say goodbye to this city, my friends, and my family. It's going to be one of the most difficult things I've done for a long time. This place has become my home, and these people my family. My semester here has been an incredible experience that I will never forget. I have learned so much about the Mexican culture, the world around me, and most importantly, myself. My Spanish has also greatly improved, well, this I hope anyways. Choosing to study in Guanajuato was definitely the right decision. I will miss everything about it, but I hope to return here someday soon.

Well, I guess that's about it. Thanks to everyone who read my blog and kept in touch this semester. It really means a lot to me. See you soon 😊
Sara






Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

last bagel breakfastlast bagel breakfast
last bagel breakfast

best friend Jackie and I having our last Thursday breakfast together at our favorite place - the bagel cafe - and our friend who works there, Sandra. By the end of the semester - she knew our order without even asking.
my favorite ice cream!my favorite ice cream!
my favorite ice cream!

sold by this man in the park. home made and extremely delicious.
trimming the treetrimming the tree
trimming the tree

(thanks for the ornament mom) :)
church in Leon's centrochurch in Leon's centro
church in Leon's centro

of course beautiful...just like all of the churches here. the inside too.
yay for leaves!yay for leaves!
yay for leaves!

after missing fall, I was super excited to find crunchy leaves on the ground. Yes, I stepped all over them and threw them up in the air. Jesús thought I was crazy. he just doesn't get it.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb