Hola Todos!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola everyone!
I have made it safely to Mexico and things are going well so far! I am a little homesick, but I just need to get used to things here. Guanajuato is a beautiful city - it´s surrounded by mountains. Hopefully I´ll be able to post some pictures soon. I haven´t done a whole lot yet, as we just had orientation today. We are taking a tour of the city tonight, which hopefully will help because I have never been anywhere more confusing! The roads are so random and just turn every which way. I had my first experience on a bus today, and that was definitely interesting. I thought for sure we were going to crash because the driver went so fast, but it was all okay. There´s an underground road system here which is pretty neat. The city is very old and in order to keep it that way there are many streets were cars are not allowed. Stop lights and neon signs are also not allowed to be in the city. It´s definitely different!
My family is very friendly but the set up is a little different than I expected, I guess different from what I was told. There are only two children living at home. A girl, Auxi, age 28 and a boy, Jesus age 22. But Jesus goes to school in a city about 30 miles away so usually he lives there. My host parents have another child but she does not live at home and she has two children ages 7 and 2. I haven´t met them yet. There is also another American student living in the house. I haven´t had much time to talk to him yet. I think he'll be leaving in a couple weeks as my host mother told me he is doing the summer program.
Well I guess that´s all for now. I just have orientation all week and some tours around the city. We go on our first excursion this weekend, in which we will be taking a 6 hour horseback ride up to a volcano. Should be interesting. Our program director told us we will be extremely sore for a few days afterwards. But it should be fun.
Will write again soon! Miss you all.

Advertisement



30th July 2008

thinking of you
Hey Sara:) We are hoping that things are going well for you, thinking of you. Stephanie's mom asked about you today at work so she is anxious to keep informed also on how you are doing. I go thte lawn cut otnight, whew, tough this time. Work remains busy only 2 open beds. Lori adn Marilyn said to say hi and watch for the Mexican boys:) Hope the horseback riding will be fun, anxious to hear all about it. TAke care, missing you too..... Lov eyou, Mom:)
30th July 2008

I admire you for doing this. It would be very hard to go live in someone elses place. Do they always have students? Sounds like they are older people. The horse ride sounds great. I would do that but don't take too many bus rides. Walking is safer. Are there a lot of scooters (not your dog) there? We will be looking forward to getting pictures. I love these blogs things. Love Kas
3rd August 2008

Caballos y Sara!
Hi Sara! Girl, I miss you :( Your mom gave me an update on your first impressions with your living arrangement, and your Saturday excursion. ¿Cómo estaba tu paseo del lomo de caballo al volcán? (Did I get that right?) I have a feeling you don't want to look at, let alone ever ride, another horse! But don't worry, you'll feel better in about 4-5 days. The bruises on the inside of your legs from going back down the mountainside may take a bit longer to disappear! Ouch, I don't think I could have ridden on a trip like that without preparing with heavy-duty riding at least a month in advance. You might want to let this woman (in charge of the students?) know that it would be nice to perhaps inform future students that this is something they might want to prep for; the ride would be much more enjoyable for all involved then! So, do they have oatmeal where you are staying? Every morning, as I'm making it, I think about you, and wish I had some way to send you some fresh cereal! But, since I can't, I'll do the next best thing...eat a bowl of it in your honor! Hasta la vez próxima, adiós. Miss you, Cindy PS This blog is the best!
3rd August 2008

Sally
It's official!!! Sally and Joe are engaged!
7th August 2008

hehe
Don't you wish you could hear Dad try to pronounce the names of those cities? I do! :-)

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb