First Day in Mexico


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have just arrived to Mexico City, and I'm nervous and excited, because I have no idea what to expect, what to see or find. I arrived around 4pm, our mexicans friends searched us and we went to their apartment, which was not far from the airport, in the center of the city. Without losing anytime our friends took us to see the city, to the famous Plaza de la Constitución, or el Zócalo, as is famously called. It was dark already, I think around 10 or 11. is huge, and has this european vibe with the mix of the mexican people. There were different groups of dancers that wore aztec and other mexica costumes and danced with wooden instruments and costumes that sounded incredibly beautiful. One thing, however, surprised me, there were no turists there, we were the only one with cameras, and even with the dancers and the spectacular view of the Zocalo in the night I didn't felt comfortable. It was cold, the city looked sad, with trash in the streets and taxis driving like maniacs everywhere. But I'm fascinated by all. The essence of the people, how really big cities aren't so different at all. Is my first day, and I'm thrilled to see what is yet to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb