1st mexican post


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chihuahua » Chihuahua
October 27th 2010
Published: October 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ola todos !

I arrived yesterday in Chihuahua (I promise Iason, I put a song link and a good one...
) after a nice trip.
Again, I almost missed my flight because I was late and the check-in was closed. Damn it ! 2 flights, and twice I am at the border. But thanks the professionalism of continental airlines crew, I managed to overtake everybody at the security gate, took off my shoes (you never know, I might carry explosives) and ran to the gate. Got it ! After a transfer in (Whitney) Houston, I took a plane sooooo small that it could land in my garden. I mean, it was 3 rows of seats in toal, 2 on the right and 1 on the left. And you cannot stand in. But it does the job and brought me to Chihuahua.

At the airport I started to regret not to have boots and cowboy hat. Not that I am tan like a mexican, but if you are over 30 and you don´t wear a cowboy hat, you look suspicious... Enguerrand (a colleague of Vince currently in CHI) grabed me at the airport, and we went with his mexican girlfriend Carla (or Karla ?) to a bar with some of her friends.

I can make this testimonial: Tequila tastes much better here !! After couple of cerveza, they of course gave me some tequilas to taste, mexican style (one shot with lemon and salt). On my way to be "pokemon" as they say here.
And tonight, some friends (guys) will take me out because they want to use me to hook up some girls. I am in ! I did not tell you: the european look (blond hair, etc) is super popular. Vince is already a superstar there after 3 visits, girls are craving for him. And Carla told me I am gonna be in the same position, because I look very european. And no need to add that mexican girls are super pretty...

I hope this will help me to improve my spanish, close to nada right now. I am getting confused with italian and greek and whatever other non-spanish language . But ok, I am quite confident.

Today I spend the day in CHI, visiting a bit. I will visit the house of Pancho Villa later on and get prepared for tonight. I think I am gonna love this country !!

Serge Gainsbourg - Viva Villa (1961)
"Deux fusils, quatre pistolets
Et un couteau à cran d'arrêt
S'en vont à Guadalajara
C'est pour un fameux carnaval
Que s'avance cet arsenal
Qui a pour nom Pancho Villa
Tout à l'heure au pied du calvaire
Il dira une courte prière
Puis il reprendra ses jurons
Et son chemin et sa chanson (...) "


Tommorow (mañana) I´ll take the train for Los Mochis, the famous "Ferrocarril Chihuahua al Pacífico", going through the copper canyon. Said to be an unforgetable experience. And then heading to Mazatlan to relax on the beach. Apparently it is only 25degres there....

Cheers !
And send me some news !!

Advertisement



28th October 2010

Ola Don Diego
C toujours très agréable de lire tes aventures; keep up the good work; bises Gui

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb