I Think My Body Had Enough


Advertisement
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

San CristobalSan CristobalSan Cristobal

The catheral in town.
As I made my decision to leave Puerto Escondido and start my Mexico adventures, I decided to head down to San Cristobal de Las Casas in Chiapas. For those of you who might not know, San Cristobal was where the Zapatista rebels emerged from the forests and invaded back in 1994. The Mexican army was able to regain control of the city in a few days. Around 150 people were killed....mostly rebels. The rebels were fighting for various causes which included improving the living standards for Mexico's indigenous people. They don't sound like a bad group of guys. The city itself is pretty cool, it has narrow streets and stone roads....reminded me of Oaxaca. The people are cool as well.

The bus trip to San Cristobal from Puerto is 12 hrs. They run overnight which makes the trip so much easier. The day that I was leaving, my body started feeling sore all over. I didn't think much of it. On the bus trip I kept getting chills and was thinking that it was just the bus' a/c. So, we arrive to San Cristobal and as I step out of the bus, it felt as if I instantly stepped into
San CristobalSan CristobalSan Cristobal

Templo de Santo Domingo
early Texas winter weather! The temperature was in the low 60s. What da??!! The city is in higher altitude. The other morning it was in the 40s. Yeah, my shorts and sandals lifestyle had to be put away....at least for a few days. I arrived at my hostel, got settled, and decided to get a hot chai tea (because I love those things when it's cold out). As I made my way to look for a place for my tea, I noticed that my eyes were instantly very sensitive to light even though there was hardly sunlight out. My arms had major goose bumps and my body again started getting chills. I found my tea and hung out at the coffee shop for a rest. My eyes were still killing me and my body felt really weird. Something was wrong with me (and no fools, I don't mean mentally). I returned to my hostel and decided to take a nap. When I awoke nothing improved. I actually got worse and this time, I developed a major headache. Yeah, I got the flu. "Damn you to hell flu!!" I was bedridden for 2 1/2 days. Nothing but sleep. The other guys
San CristobalSan CristobalSan Cristobal

In the streets.
at the hostel thought I was dying because I slept so much. Anyway, I lost two days and now I had to cancel my 50k mountain bike trail excursion to the forest. Sucked! However, I did manage to check out some museums, the local market, and toured a beautiful canyon. On Monday the 1st , I'm headed off to Palenque, one of Mexico's most impressive ruins that lies in the middle of the jungle. I'm staying in a cabin that's close to the ruins, and yes, in the middle of the El Pachan jungle. Awesome! Apparently you see monkeys all over the place. We'll see.

Don't drink the milk. - alejandro


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Sumidero CanyonSumidero Canyon
Sumidero Canyon

Entering the canyon
sumidero Canyonsumidero Canyon
sumidero Canyon

Legend has it that back in the day the indigenous people who did not want to get conquered or enslaved by the Spaniards, leapt to their fate from this highest cliff of the canyon down into the river. Pretty high.
Sumidero CanyonSumidero Canyon
Sumidero Canyon

Waterfall coming out from the middle of the cliff down into a Christmas tree looking....whateva.
Sumidero CanyonSumidero Canyon
Sumidero Canyon

At the bottom of the waterfall.
Sumidero CanyonSumidero Canyon
Sumidero Canyon

Crocodile with butterfly eyes. Que cute!
Sumidero CanyonSumidero Canyon
Sumidero Canyon

Some lazy ass birds.


1st September 2008

Cool!!
Que bueno that you're fine!!! Great blogs! Cool pix-- cuidate carnal!!!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb