Day 33 - Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 33, Tuesday 26 June 2007 - Palenque and waterfalls

Today was a long driving day, with a departure from San Cristobal at 6.30 on our only private bus for the trip. We had two stops along the way though, at some waterfalls.

The first stop was after yet another crappy bus ride, as the roads around these parts are very winding. I have to admit, I haven´t seen nearly as much desert in the country as I have hills and green mountains!

The first falls were breaktaking though. Azul Agua. Damned hot though and humid. I think the temps around these parts are around 35, which is just murder on me!

The second falls were (I think ) Mesal-Ha. Pretty, but in no way as impressive as the first falls. Interesting bit though is that Predator was filmed in these parts. I only saw the movie again about a year ago and didn´t managed to recognise anything, but hey, its a movie fact all the same!

We arrived in Palenque around 4pm, where our hotel rooms have AIR CON!!! God Bless air con, is all I can say. Its so damned hot here.
Falls looking down the riverFalls looking down the riverFalls looking down the river

the sound was amazing

T and I went for a walk into town after dinner. Not nearly as nice as the other towns we´ve been to, but nice enough.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mesal-Ha FallsMesal-Ha Falls
Mesal-Ha Falls

from the front
Our room with airconOur room with aircon
Our room with aircon

one of the nicer rooms we´ve had!


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb