Perros Del Mar!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California
January 18th 2011
Published: November 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jan. 18th, 2011: Moon is rising plump and ripe over the bay at sunset. The sky shades from blue to pink along the horizon. I am alone, peacefully meditating on the day, nature, my life... when the VHF radio crackles to life behind me as follows:


"Perros del Mar! PERROS DEL MAR!"

I think: "Dogs of the sea?... Dogs of the sea?"

Then one by one I hear different people in varying distances (I can tell by the clarity of the transmissions):

"WWWHHHOOOOFFF! WOOOOFFFF!"

"GRRRRRRRR"

"AAAAAAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!"

.... and various other transmissions of whimpers, howls and more barking.

The radio falls silent.... I am sitting quietly, still staring at the moon and the pink horizon. A meteor streaks across the sky.

I can't help but laugh. I imagine this would be a mother ship of sorts calling to their fishing pangas... inquiring how they are doing. I decided that a woof was they are fine and doing well thank you very much. A howl is that they are slaughtering them and are getting a great catch, life is good! And a whimper may mean that well.... fishing ain't always catchin'. Plus they all are checking in with each other on this beautiful evening. I have no idea what it was about... but I know I won't forget the Perros del Mar.

A few moments ago, three men panga'd up to us with spiny lobsters... 8 dollars and 4 AA batteries later, we have a lobster dinner. The whole time

I was wondering if they were one of the perros.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb