La Paz to Cabo San Lucas


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
February 18th 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


February 18 – Monday – La Paz to Cabo – Today I checked out of the Pension California and went to the Tourista Terminal on the Malecon. It was a pretty good walk and I stopped a few times along the way to rest and catch my breath from dragging my suitcase and carrying my computer bag and a full grocery bag. It is a pain carrying all this stuff but I try to eat healthy and that means not eating out overmuch.

I also stopped so I could enjoy the view of the bay a bit before I left La Paz.

At the Terminal Tourista I bought a ticket to Cabo San Lucas via Todos Santos. The ticket was M$220 ($17). It left at 11:00 and it was a 3 hour trip. When I got on the bus I got in the front seat so I could see out the front window on the trip. I put my 3 bags with me. My suitcase on the floor in front of the empty seat next to me and my other 2 bags on the seat. A guy got on and motioned that he wanted to put my suitcase in
My "kitchen"My "kitchen"My "kitchen"

First thing I always do when I get somewhere is to set up my kitchen
the luggage compartment but I motioned and patted my bags, and said “OK”, clearly indicating I wanted to keep my bags with me. So the left me alone and got back off the bus to store other people’s luggage below.

On the way out of La Paz the bus stopped at a smaller bus station and more people got on. A guy got on selling burritos and cokes and I bought a couple of cheese and bean burritos and a coke. I normally wouldn’t have drank a coke on a bus trip but this bus had a restroom. The bus was very nice, with plush seats, air conditioning, a movie on a TV (in Spanish) and a very smooth ride.

It was a very comfortable ride to Los Cabos. Going through the desert once again I was struck with just how difficult travel must have been just a generation ago. Of course I am sure the rich came down on ships. And now they (and I) fly down.

In any case I arrived at the bus terminal in Cabo San Lucas on the Northwest side of town and walked out the door and saw a Colectivo Transporte bus heading towards town that had “Muelle” at the bottom of its list. I flagged it down and got on. I paid the driver 10.50 Pesos which is what it cost to go anywhere within the town, and made my way towards the back of the bus. The bus was full but a young Mexican man got up and gave me his portion of the bench because I was struggling with my 3 bags, which was very nice of him. These Colectivo busses have benches on each side of the bus instead of regular seats.

After the bus stopped at a regular bus stop about 50 yards down the road it headed into town. We crossed over on a few streets and I kept the lookout for Morelos Street. I was staying at the Cabo Inn again so once we got onto Morelos Street I kept a lookout for the Hotel Estancia Real. It is easy to spot because it is big and painted pink. The Cabo Inn was behind it on 20 de Noviembre. I saw the yellow of the Puerto Paraiso mall and so knew it was coming up so started towards the front of the bus and when I saw the Hotel Estancia Real I told the driver “Alto” and he pulled over and let me off. There is another word you are supposed to say but I can’t remember it so “Alto” works. Actually I can’t say I have ever heard anyone say anything, they just move up to the front of the bus like they want off. If I had stayed on the bus I could have gotten off on Lazaro Cardenas by the Puerto Paraiso Mall.

In any case I got off and walked over to the Cabo Inn and checked in.

I unpacked my stuff and set up my “kitchen” on the counter and made up a cup of tea then went back out onto the patio to relax and enjoy my tea. Bob showed up and we visited a bit and after a bit the “three caballeros” showed up from a hard days partying to rest a bit before the evenings partying.

Everyone was glad to see me again, including the maids and it felt more like coming home than getting back to a hotel.

I tried to work on my blog but ended up giving up on that for the day because everyone kept trying to talk to me and so I spent the rest of the day visiting.

Just another day In Paradise.

If you come to Mexico it is worth your while to learn a little about Mexican street food.

http://www.ask.com/wiki/Mexican_street_food

Advertisement



21st February 2013

trip
Street food in Mexico is different experience , glad to read you let that guy know you would not give up you seats , that 1st thing Joe , made clear when i went down , people still travel like that there ,Joe told me , have a safe flight, you will be ready for your next trip

Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb