The bus station, the desert and Soriana


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

February 4 – Monday - Cabo – The first thing I did this morning was to go downstairs and book another 5 days here at the Cabo Inn. I was paid up thru Tuesday, leaving Wednesday but this takes me through next Sunday leaving Monday the 11th. That will work out well as it gives me enough time to enjoy Cabo San Lucas and then leave for La Paz next Monday.

Today I sought out the Gordo Lele’s taqueria on Calle Mariano Matamoros ¼ block north of Lazario Carnetas street. I had their Asada (Beef) taco. It was quite good. They are supposed to have an owner called Javier who sings Beatle songs but I guess since it was in the day he wasn’t there.

My main task for today was to go to the bus station here in Cabo so that I would know how to get there next week when I am going to La Paz. I caught the Collectivo bus that had Soriana written on it. This is the bus that goes by the Central De Autobuses (bus station), for the Aguila buses. From this station I will be able to catch a bus next Monday
Central De Autobuses in Cabo San LucusCentral De Autobuses in Cabo San LucusCentral De Autobuses in Cabo San Lucus

This is the bus station that I will go to to catch the bus to La Paz. It is on one wing of the Golden Palace.
the 11th to take me to La Paz.

I went to the bus station which is just past a big intersection and on the Right wing of The Golden Palace and as much as I could understand talked to the two women there and they told me there were two ways to go to La Paz. One took 3 hours and the other 4 hours, so I asked them which was the more “Buena vista” and they told me the 4 hour one so I guess that is the one I will go on. One goes up via Todos Santos and the other via Los Bariles. I will go up one way and back the other since my flight home is out of SJD on the 20th. I may come back to Cabo San Lucas for a few days before I go back.

In any case when I got through with scouting out the bus station, I caught the same bus again I had come out on and rode it some more to see where it went and perhaps it might circle back again. We turned next to a very large store called SORIANA
AGUILA BUSAGUILA BUSAGUILA BUS

The Aguila Bus that I will catch next week going to La Paz
and should have gotten off there because after that we were just going into the poorer parts of town. We went out a bit and the houses got poorer and the roads turned to unpaved and sandy and very rough. By now I figured I should just go back but decided to just stay on and maybe it would circle around again or in worst case I would get to the end of the route and just stay on and come back. This is in fact what happened. The roads turned to sandier and rougher and the houses and shacks gave way to Cactus and desert. So I told the driver I wanted to go to Muelle and he pointed back and so I just pointed down (like I’m just going to stay on the bus) and an upward and backward motion like I was going to go back when the bus did. So we got to an open area surrounded by cactus and desert with a roofed patio where other drivers were lounging and a Mexican woman cooking some food. I figured this was where the drivers took their breaks as several other buses and two dogs were around
Muelle to Palma (and back) busMuelle to Palma (and back) busMuelle to Palma (and back) bus

As written on the front window, this bus started in Muella (on the south side of the Marina) and goes to Palma (way, way out). Then the driver takes a break and heads back again. So before you get on you need to notice which way the bus is going from your location.
waiting. So I indicated I would just stay on the bus and the driver said 20 minutes and got off and went to the break area. In a bit a couple of boys got on and started sweeping and mopping out the bus and so I got off so they could do their work and took a few pictures. In a bit they finished and I got back on and read the Gringo Gazette while I waited for the driver to finish his break.

In a bit the driver got back on and we started back into town along dusty dirt roads surrounded by cactus and desert which eventually turned into paved roads and houses. When we got to that large Supermarket called SORIANA I got off and checked out the store. It was massive and had a mall connected to it. I did some shopping and in my opinion SORIANA is better than Wal Mart and Mega put together. After getting my shopping done I caught the Colectivo Bus again for M$10.50 (about 80 cents) and headed back into town.

When I got back to the Cabo Inn I took a nap and then got
Not where I want to be.....exactly.Not where I want to be.....exactly.Not where I want to be.....exactly.

Well....I wanted to find out where the bus goes to before it comes back....so now I know.
up later to find everyone out visiting on the patio. I made my tea and joined in the visiting. We had a pleasant time visiting and there was myself, a guy from DC, another from Oregon, two Canadian girls, a German, and another couple of guys from Canada.

About 10:30 the Canadians went out and I headed to bed.

It’s hard to believe that I haven’t been here even a week. With all the new experiences it feels like I have been here a long time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Clean busClean bus
Clean bus

When we got to the end of the line two boys got on and swept and mopped the bus.
Soriana insideSoriana inside
Soriana inside

This store is better than Wal Mart and Mega combined...and easier to get to by using the Colectiva bus.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb