TUESDAY.


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I survived yet another day! Today was a super chill day…we woke up around 9am (Cabo time) and just sat around the pool for the day…until 6pm I think? It was super relaxing, but pretttty uneventful. The best thing about Cabo by far is the weather. The hotel is all open because it rarely rains here. Every day has been blue cloudless skies, breezy, and hot hot hot. It’s just straight up gorgeous.

Soooo there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky today, and we just chilled out by the pool. All the male staff here caters to every wish of the female guests, and a few have been calling my sister and I “princesa”, so my dad and sister thought it’d be funny to tell a staff member that I like being called “princesa”. Awkward. I was walking around the pool, and all of a sudden I hear “princesa!!” and turn around…and there’s the staff guy. He asked “Como estan” and “How many years?” and I was like “..huh? How old am I?” haha so I told him 19 and he was like “Ahh 19…19..” and I was like “…19…” and then we parted ways. Everyone winks at everyone here. It’s odd.

But that post made tons of sense ^

My sister and I hung out at the pool bar for a bit, and I ordered a Mojito! It was alright….pretty good, but I think the alcohol in it kinda ruined the flavor. I also think I’m a lightweight, because all I had was this tiny glass of mojito, and I felt a little funny and dizzy. It may have been the heat and it may have been all in my head…but I was very content ordering my Ernest Hemingway after that. SUCH a good drink, omg.

The pools here are infinity pools, so it looks like they blend into the ocean! Meg & I were chilling at the edge, and we saw this ginormous cruise ship that had stopped out in the water…kinda near town for the day. That was awesome; I’d never seen a cruise ship in person before.

Also, there are pool parties that go on every day, with live DJs and all the Riu entertainment staff. They host drinking competitions, bingo, games, dancing, exercise, etc. They had a bunch of stuff going on today, but my sister and I took part in the water balloon fight in the pool! So much fun, except there were mostly guys and they took it seriously and….it hurt. My neck got pelted twice by these massive balloons the size of my head. But it was still fun!

So a few hours of napping and “princesa!” later…we took showers and got ready for our reservation at fancy hotel restaurant #3. Tonight was a steakhouse right outside on a balcony overlooking the ocean. The dinner was at 8:45pm, so it’s rather late right now, but it was soooo good! The stars were out and there was a live mariachi band that sang for us at our table.

We had assorted seafood and salad as an appetizer; steak & lobster as our meal; fries and veggies on the side; and baked Alaska/3 chocolate cake as our dessert. I’m so stuffed…then we sat and watched the final minutes of the show that the Riu put on tonight (Mamma Mia!), and then I came to the lobby, and here I am! I currently have no internet, so I’m just writing this in Word until a) my laptop charges and b) I get a signal.

I might go hang with my sister at the Riu Disco in a little…I bailed on her last night, but I might stay for 20 mins or so tonight.

So on the agenda for tomorrow:
--Pool until 2ish
--Horseback riding at 3? I think it’s supposed to be 5 hours long, so I’m pumped for that!

Thursday:
--Deep sea fishing 7-12
--Pool for a bit?
--4x4 safari jeep excursion later?

Friday:
--Downtown Cabo until 12/1
--Pool for the rest of the day

Either Thursday or Friday night we’ll have our final fancy hotel restaurant dinner. But that’s about it! I also just moved spots to closer to the center of the lobby, and I still have no signal. So this is just fantastic! I’ll probably end up posting this Wednesday morning, since I don’t feel like waiting around for a signal.

Anyways…what else happened today…after we got ready, I looked out our hotel window and saw the cruise ship driving away! It was passing our hotel out in the ocean, and it was sooo cool. The only thing cooler than seeing a cruise ship anchored in the middle of the Sea of Cortez…is seeing that cruise ship moving up the coast! So effin’ awesome. The buffet dinner tonight was Carribean themed, and I kept hearing mariachi bands from our hotel room, so that was kinda awesome.

The people sitting next to me are foreign…I have no idea what accent it is. Oh! While we were chilling in the pool bar today, we met 2 different couples, and both were from California! One was from San Francisco, so that was awesome. Tons of people here are from Cali, and the one couple was like “Omg MARYLAND?! You came a long ways! How long was the flight?!” So it was kinda funny to see people slightly enthusiastic about the teeny state of MD.

Hmm…what else…I tried the smoky eye makeup look tonight, and I love it! I finally figured out how to master it. My sister even had me do her eyes for her. Big success. I also scrunched my hair today, so the curls were very much unleashed. I was shocked that they didn’t frizz up, but that’s because Cabo is just perfect. No humidity. No disgusting heat. Just clear skies, warmth, and perfect breezes. All the time.

Yeaaahh so the lights in the lobby turned off, and I’m still without internet. It’s 11:30pm Cabo time, so I’ll probably head back to the room, go with sister to the Disco, then post this in the morning. Crappy Mexican internet…the one little bit of communication I have, and they take it away!

More later.

Peace, love, & Sala Pacifico,

Melissa <3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb