MONDAY. (pt. 2)


Advertisement
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Alrighty...so where did I leave off....ahhhh snorkeling. Basically, the waves were huge and rocked us galore; people got sick; I laid down the entire time; and I didn't get my underwater pics. The experience was awesome while it lasted, but I can't wait to snorkel again in clear water that's *gasp* calm.

BUT!!! On the way out to the first spot, the boat staff started shouting "Orca! Orca!" and I thought they were seeing dolphins? But it turns out there were a few Orca whales...aka killer whales...swimming! Whale-watching is only December-April, so it's kinda cool we were able to see the whales! At first it was just the fins, but then at one point, the whole first half of the whale was out of the water! I saw the black and white colors and its face...it was incredible. I've now seen a killer whale.

Also....on the first day here, we went down to the beach and saw fish flying in the air...out of the water. At first I thought they were flounders or just crazy fish. Turns out...they're jumping stingrays!! How awesome is that. But yes...starting out on our snorkeling trip, when we were passing the famous rocks, we also saw some sea lions chilling. It was also awesome.

Let's see...so we ended our snorkeling adventure and took a taxi back to the hotel around 3pm. From there, we just chilled at the pool until 5:30. I think I got myself a little burnt...there was a live DJ and it was pretty wild, but we hung out on the lounge chairs and got some sun. I dozed a bit too and drank my virgin Ernest Hemingway (fav drink, remember?). So that was just relaxing and such...then at 5:30 my sister & I went upstairs and sat on a deck by the lobby. We got waters and nachos and fed these teeny little birds that had the cutest chirp...and we watched the massive waves. Seriously...I think someone would die if they tried to swim out there. The water here in Cabo is mostly dangerous...I wish I knew that beforehand :P

We showered & then got ready for our Japanese Steakhouse dinner....soooo good. We had a variety of sushi as the pre-appetizer.. not as good as OC Wasabi! I got shrimp & veggie tempura as my appetizer; chicken & veggie skewers in teriyaki as my meal; green tea ice cream as my dessert. The staff also handed out alcoholic drinks as soon as we walked in...which they seriously do everywhere here. In the lobby, at the bar, in every restaurant. Gotta love all-inclusive resorts. I've only been getting virgin drinks, but tonight I had a glass of the free stuff...which had orange juice, lemon juice, maraschino cherry, and vodka? I couldn't even taste the alcohol and it was pretty good sooo no complaints! If I'm ever to drink alcohol, it'll only be in the form of mixed drinks... none of that beer or shots crap. Just saying.

Soo after dinner, we sat and watched a bit of this Las Vegas-themed show, then I grabbed my laptop and here I am once again in the lobby! Tomorrow's just going to be a chill beach/pool day...but all 3 of us are fairly burned, so hopefully it fades by morning. I believe we have another 8:30 dinner tomorrow night...and that's all I know for now.

Soooo yep, I should probably let my family head off to bed now since they're waiting for me. More later!

Peace, love, & orca whales,

Melissa <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb