Days 7 & 8: Gaspe & Campbellton


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
July 29th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After a morning of whale watching, I left Tadoussac to head North-East to Baie Comeau, in order to catch an evening ferry over to Matane, on the other side of the St. Lawrence River. I quickly set-up my tent in the dark (which was pretty tricky) once I arrived in Matane, so that I could catch some sleep before heading out to Gaspe the next morning. The drive along the St. Lawrence to Gaspe was even more beautiful than from Quebec to Baie-Comeau (and less hilly). It was also a very special drive because my BAXY turned 100,000km (congrats!). I was able to quickly set-up camp once I reached the outskirts of Gaspe and head to Fourillon National Park for a quick hike. The stone beach lay beneath the thousands of shore birds nesting on the cliffs. I hiked up to the top of the park and got some nice pictures from the observation tower. There was tons of wildlife, dozens of different species of birds.

The next day I set out on a big hike in the Fourillon National park again, but this time in the South part instead of the North. It was incredibly foggy and kind of creepy, since I had gone early in the morning and there wasn't a soul. I hiked all the way to Le Bout du Monde (World's End), which is where the Apalachian Trail ends. I spotted shore birds and grey seals. I could also hear whales near from shore, as they surfaced and shot out water through their blow hole. On my way back, just before I got into the car I had the chance to see a whale jumping out of the water. The splash was so loud you could hear it from kilometres away (cannonball!). It was incredible. This was then followed up by a porcupine crossing (more like waddling) right in front of my car. Then later on right before entering Sugar Loaf Mountain in Campbellton, traffic was halted by a family of skunks trying to cross the road (a mama and two babies). Again, so much wildlife.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



1st August 2014
Whale jumping

Amazing picture!!!
31st August 2014

Love the pictures
Thoroughly enjoying the trip blog; the pictures are great!

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb