Days 5 & 6: Tadoussac


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
July 26th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After two great nights in Quebec city I made my way to Tadoussac, following the road along the St. Lawrence river. This small town is known for its superb whale watching, especially for belugas, which live in the St. Lawrence year round. On my way I was shocked by how mountainous the journey was, as I found myself either punching the gas pedal to go uphill or burning out my brakes on the slopes down. It was a continuous up and down road for four hours straight! I also noticed these tiny purplish pink flowers, which seem to litter the entire Quebec country side. When you have a bunch of these growing together in a field it really makes for a beautiful landscape.

Tadoussac was also where I was to begin my four continuous days of camping, which turned out to be four days of camping in the rain. Thankfully my tent has been able to withstand the rain for now and I have been able to keep dry.

My first morning in Tadoussac I boarded a 12-person zodiac boat and headed out into the St. Lawrence River. Even though it was warm on shore, as soon as you got a kilometre or so onto the water it was frigid. I was very thankful they had provided us with bright orange, splash-proof jackets and pants to help keep warm. We were very lucky as we saw several pods of beluga, some grey seals and a couple fin whales, which are second in size to the blue whale. The captain brought us really close to the belugas, to the point where they began to swim under the boat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.1kb