Between Worlds and a Red Sun of Promise


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
January 2nd 2007
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Red SunriseRed SunriseRed Sunrise

...a promise is cast....
It seems there have been many opportunities to make promises lately, the lanterns drew one out of me and the red sunrise as we left required the same. I can only promise to live. Forever now, I will be always seeking a part of the place I am not in.

Leaving Thailand so unexpectedly and not at all prepared has made it all the more difficult to deal with. We are in Canada now, and like every traveller who returns after such intensity, dealing with the reverse culture shock and wanting to be elsewhere is something that just takes time.

I am not finished with my time there yet, and I know leaving things so unsettled will only draw me back sooner. In the meantime, I'll see about work and wait ....for a short time.... to see what unfolds for me here. If not, there is only one place I'll head towards. (keep you all posted on that)....

I am in weekly contact with the orphanage and I am told that the first of many packages I know are heading there has arrived. Thank you everyone who has sent items! The kids thank you too!

Marrin:
How do you feel about the time you spent at the orphanage?
I feel lucky that we could get the chance to go there. The kids are really nice but it was really hard understanding what they said.

What did you learn about the children?
They are really lucky to be alive because of eveything that could have hurt them from the Tsunami. The earthquake that started the Tsunami under the ocean wrecked all their homes and things.

What did you learn about a different culture(place in the world)?
In some places people will give up everything just for those kids. Rotjana did and she is happy about it.

What was the most interesting thing you noticed about Thailand?
I remember saying "cool" about something, but I can't remember what it was!

What was your favorite part of the trip?
The memorial celebration for the Tsunami. I liked seeing all the lanterns in the sky.

Miles:
How do you feel about the time you spent at the orphanage?
Good. I liked the kids plus the best people were their and I had lots of friends. We liked each other. I learned how to ride a two wheeler bike.

What did you learn about the children?
They can speak a different language. They love to play. They like drums and dancing. They are really good at dancing. Singing is good too. The like spicy food. It is good sometimes.

What did you learn about a different culture?
It is lots of fun. It is a new place with different kids and we can play easier.

What was the most interesting thing you noticed about Thailand?
It's hot out there. I liked the sand because it was soft. The tree bugs make a neat noise and they are really big.

What was your favorite part of the trip?
Riding on a motorcyc with mommy. I can sleep with my self on her back and we can drive a really long way!



Advertisement



2nd January 2007

Enjoyed your Journey
I have to tell you that my girls (12 and 13) have enjoyed your journey you have taken. Sorry to see that when I read todays that you had to come home so early. Thank you for letting us be part of this. Cheryl in Nova Scotia

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.052s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb