Vancouver, Calgary and Banff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
December 7th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Canada


Flying into Vancouver, the 9 hour or so flight went by fairly comfortably and quickly. Getting out of customs and all that jazz I was met by Sydney, who I met on my Contiki tour of Europe last year. It was a dramatic change in weather, with freezing temperatures and snow everywhere! After getting to Sydney's parents place, we were quickly joined by her friends - where I had to quickly adjust to North American girls talking amazingly quickly and all at the same time. It was also here I learnt that the weather was very uncommon for this time of year and they hadn't had snow like this in Vancouver for 40 odd years.

Syd's friends were pretty cool and we would catch up a few times during the week. After crashing really late (my English time suggested 8:00am, but it was midnight - Vancouver time), the next day we would have brunch with Syd's dad before some sightseeing of Vancouver. Driving through the city and then to Stanley Park (named after the Stanley of the Stanley Cup). It was largely snowed over and looked so amazing. Everything was white and I was astonished, through this large park and a few snow fights were had, along with me freezing my .... off!!

It was a good drive around and then we headed to some areas up in the mountains. We went to some ski runs up there and froze every time we got out of the car! It was then as we were looking at a tobogan run that the car got bogged into the snow! A fair way from any other person we tried pushing out the car, but the wheels continually turned in the snow and ice!! I kept trying to push it out but with no boots meant no grip and we weren't going anywhere, until an employee of the ski centre came and helped us out, until Syd decided to stop the car after she got it going and it got bogged in again!!! We had to get another guy to help and we finally got out after well over an hour.

We got back later that evening and had dinner with more of Sydney's friends. It seems amazing that because you are from another country and have experienced some pretty cool things recently, that you become the centre of conversation - which
Contiki groupContiki groupContiki group

Myself, Naomi, Sydney and Darcy
is pretty cool. The following day we lounged about before seeing the Borat movie (quality!) and then made our way to an ice hockey match.

We had some pretty good seats and saw the Canucks play the Anaheim Ducks (who are the Mighty Ducks!). Its weird the names they give their teams - Canucks means Canadians, then there is the Maple Leaves and also a team called 'The Canadiens' - so they all basically have the same name!!! Anyway, like many, I struggled to watch ice hockey on television - but in person the game is really cool and the puck is easy to follow!!! The game was fairly good with a couple of fights that broke up far too early!!! It wasn't a high scoring game with the Ducks coming out on top by a goal, as we ate bagels and drank beers - good entertainment. They also had a new big screen that hangs from the roof and was so so clear!!

The following day after breakfast with Sydney's grandmother we got a plane to Calgary, which is also where Sydney is studying at University. Calgary is where the 1988 Winter Olympics were held, which most people would be familiar with the story of the Jamaican bobsled team!!! So we checked out the Canadian Olympic Park where the bobsled competition was held and the park is well used still today, with many runs, sledding, luge and jumps - we saw all this at twilight, so it was all lit up and looked pretty cool.

From here we went and had dinner with 2 of Sydney's friends. I forget what we ate, but it was a pretty big meal and they were some cool people. From here it was back to Sydney's flat, until Darcy (from our Contiki tour) turned up and we headed out to a bar in Calgary. It was good seeing Darcy who has changed a little (go the frosted tips) and also caught up with Lindsay, who was from the other Contiki group we spent the last 10 days with. So we got some drinks and partied it up - and with some weird 40 year old ladies who couldn't get over the fact I was an Aussie - ease up ladies!!

It was a pretty fun night, and we finished up by getting kicked out of the venue. The next
Myself and NomesMyself and NomesMyself and Nomes

At the club in Banff (I forget the name) - lots of highballs had been downed by then.
day after sleeping in a bit we met up for lunch, Darcy, Lindsay, Syd, myself and another of our Contiki group, Naomi. Walking into the place she was so happy to see us, screaming and hugging, which is cool to see someone really happy to see you. So we sat around reminiscing and chatting about what we had been up to. Some fun coversation and some weird ones thanks to Darc and his Irish accent.

From here I was heading up to Banff (about an hour and a bit north of Calgary). So Naomi wanted to catch up some more, so she drove us up there and we would be staying with Rei from my Irish tour (lots of tour people!!!). The drive up was good as we caught up some more and looked at the scenery all around that was amazing! Getting into Banff we got some drinks before seeing Rei and went back to her place and met her flatmates (ALL Aussies!!! it seems 65% of the population is Aussie!!). Rei was tired and had to be up early the next day, so myself and Nomes (who was itching for a big night) went out with some of Rei's friends and flatmates. We had a pretty big night, with many "highballs" drunk and lots of partying and dancing! Nomes had an interesting finsih to the night - I won't elaboarate anymore Nomes so don't worry!

After saying goodbye to Nomes the next day as she had to drive home, I got the bus up to the slopes where Rei works. Its called Sunshine Village and after hiring my ski gear and going up the gondola to the slopes, I was intrigued by how white it all was and again I was freezing!!! I am sure it was about -15 degrees (without wind chill!) and going up the ski lifts it was so cold. After not skiing for about 8 years, to say I was rusty at first is an understatement, as I wiped out pretty badly first up and continued to wipe out on the easier runs! Eventually I would re-find my skill (sic) and get better as the day went on. Unfortunately I had not found Rei's message earlier and missed skiing with her. The powder was amazing (again unseasonal for this time of year apparantly), and it was so full of snow, unlike the
Darcy, Lindsay and MeDarcy, Lindsay and MeDarcy, Lindsay and Me

Darcy from my Contiki group and Lindsay from the less cool Contiki group.
runs we have in Oz! I loved this part of the trip - the skiing it was amazing!!!

Other parts of my trip didn't turn out as expected, and I felt a little let down. I won't really elaborate as I don't really think its the time, place or medium for such expression of feelings. Needless to say I wasn't feeling the best and felt really lonely all of a sudden in a small town where I couldn't really get away from anything. It was one of my harder times on my travels, but I guess I have been lucky over these few years with experiences on my travels, so I was bound for a crap experience!!!!

I contemplated leaving for Calgary but got talked into staying. The best part was skiing some more and getting better as I took on the harder runs (but again crashing a few times), and felt so bad when I was helped up and back into my ski's on the side of the hard run by an elderly English couple! But it was so much fun and my skiing was much better by the end, the powder and runs of Sunshine Village
SkiingSkiingSkiing

On the slopes of Sunshine Village - after I had wiped out a few times.
were fantastic and after some VIP treatment I was well satisfied with my skiing expereince in Canada.

Back into town and after this again was a little harder, but I would get through. A cool experience while standing outside the flat talking to mum back home, a couple of dear were just walking along the street checking out the surroundings. That was pretty cool!!! The following day I spent with Rei, we checked out the hot springs, swimming around in 40 degree water, while snow lay around was quite surreal, along with some great views of the Canadain Rockies!

We headed back and had some lunch and did some shopping before going out for dinner, for a lifty's birthday. There were a lot of us there and I chatted a lot with the Aussie flatmates of Rei's, they were pretty cool and good to talk to, and then we headed out for some more drinks, where I chatted to a married couple (one Aussie and one Pom) who were great for Ashes banter!! We hit the dancefloor after this and the night was pretty good in the end and took my mind of a few things.

The
PosingPosingPosing

Darcy posed more that night than I ever have!
next day I was off on a bus for Calgary airport, which was a bit of a relief. Great scenic drive down through the Canadian Rockies and to the airport where I waited around for ages before a plane to Vancouver. Arriving in Vancouver the bus to the hostel took me the wrong way (the driver was meant to tell me when the stop was coming up - he didn't!) and I ended up on the other side of the island! Then I got the skytrain and eventually found my hostel about 3 hours after rouching down! So I crashed!

Up the next day for some sightseeing of Vancouver downtown. Walking the streets and through some weird places (marijuana use is massive!). I was so excited to get a plane to LA, I decided to leave early, alas again a late bus had me waiting around for ages and I was getting really restless, all I wanted to do was get to LA and see my great friends!! Eventually I got to the airport to find my plane would be really late, the lady put me ona plane that would got to San Fransisco first and then LA, arriving
OutsideOutsideOutside

The Canadian kids outside where we had lunch
2 hours later than originally expected. Again all I wanted to do was get to LA!! After possibly the most frightening plane trip I have been on when we took off at Vancouver, a blizzard hit and the plane was up and down for so so long!!! I was on the edge of my seat - all I wanted to do was be in LA!!! A stop in San Fran took longer than expected as two Indian ladies got off the plane and out of the airport - we had to wait for them to come back, which meant more delays!!! I am just over delays now, but can handle them so much better now!

Eventually we landed in LA - I was so pumped!!! Couldn't wait to see Molly, Kezza and Craig!! The whole time I was on the plane I was champing at the bit to get off the plane and smiled as I walked down towards baggage collection.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Vancouver sunset
Nomes and MeNomes and Me
Nomes and Me

At the first place we went to in Banff
GondolaGondola
Gondola

Ride up to the runs in Sunshine Village
Start of the 3rdStart of the 3rd
Start of the 3rd

Beginning of the 3rd period
Canadian Olympic ParkCanadian Olympic Park
Canadian Olympic Park

Entrance to the park. Where the Jamaicans sledded.
VancouverVancouver
Vancouver

Looking out from Stanley Park
MittensMittens
Mittens

These are now mine thanks to Nomes passing them on.
Hollow TreeHollow Tree
Hollow Tree

In Stanley Park


19th December 2006

GOOD TIMES!
ok so it wasnt my fault that i stopped again!!!!! you were running and you just looked so cold! haha but hey it was a story to tell right!? and like we said.. i am now sitting here laughing about it!! had an awsome time with you dan!!! hope ill be seeing you again soon! ps- hope vegas and LA were amazing!!!! pps- that so called sphere is Science World!!!!!! ahha xoxo
20th December 2006

Welcome to Canada
Wow! What a time to visit our West when they have been bashed by cruel weather. I haven't seen that much snow in quite some time. Ah well, good scenery for your travel pics. We have been lucky in the East with mild weather. Glad you caught a hockey game, being from Montreal, my team is Les Canadiens, however, now that I am living in Toronto I encourage the Maple Leafs as well. The pic of you and Rei is great, the cold weather suits you and brings roses to your cheeks. Continued fun on your travels and in the coming New Year.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb