Back up North


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon
September 8th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am back to the Yukon and really happy about it. The weirdest thing happened to me the day I was leaving Vancouver to come back up here, I got this nervous, excited, like you're a kid Christmas morning feeling in my stomach. I couldn't wait to go back up north.

There is something here that just resonates well with me. I like looking around and seeing virtually untouched wilderness. I just like wild overall, wild meat, wild people, wildness all around, and i like to get a little wild sometimes myself, but not so much these days, I'm saving it up for when I go see my girls in Van in Nov!!!

So anyways, I started back to work in Watson Lake for the month of August. Caught up with a lot of people that I really love in that town and started to get my bank account back in the postive. It's really lovely up here this time of year, the yellows and especially the reds and pink colors stand out so much. The northern lights are starting to come out again and the air is so fresh.

This week I moved to a town
Whitehorse in backgroundWhitehorse in backgroundWhitehorse in background

we were part way up grey mountain here
called Mayo, it's further north than I have ever lived before, 5 hours north of Whitehorse and 2.5 hours south of Dawson City. There are about 400 people living here in town and at the health center we provide services for about 800 people when you include the surrounding areas.

I am enjoying the quiet and the solitude, it's giving me time to think about all my recent travels and get back into the community nurse role. I feel as though during the last 5 months of travelling something has been resolved within myself. I am not sure exactly what that is, but I just feel more at peace.

Here's some pics of my backyard...............


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

fireweedfireweed
fireweed

this flower is the first to come up after a fire, it also the yukon flower and you can get really good fireweed honey up here, yum, yum
Miles canyonMiles canyon
Miles canyon

just outside of Whitehorse
Kathie TKathie T
Kathie T

my dear friend in watson, her front porch on a sunny day, or any day really, is the place to be
Juno and SaberJuno and Saber
Juno and Saber

Kathie's dogs
young eagleyoung eagle
young eagle

this guy was sitting right outside my front step in Watson
getting out of towngetting out of town
getting out of town

heading up Keno Hill, just outside Keno City, a small town (if you call 15 people a town, I have no idea where the city part came from, but I think the population was a little higher during the goldrush days)
signpostsignpost
signpost

up the top of keno hill
for you winniefor you winnie
for you winnie

YTG housing and vehicle they provide me with.
jenn, whirly girly and mejenn, whirly girly and me
jenn, whirly girly and me

we're missing villi, this is in Monique and Rob's new place in Van.


1st October 2006

Back up North
:-D ... I'm glad you've found yourself near a peaceful resolve with yourself after the past five months of wandering. I am not sure of it, but I think that travel has a kind of polar affect upon a person depending on both past experience and where they're at within their own lives. For myself, I know that although I found myself in moments of exhausted frustrastion and a sort of 'resolve' in the sense that I had contented my wanderlust in that moment - in retrospect I think that my own 5 months was a catalyst for a deeper sense of urgency and insight into the realities of the conditions that the majority of people living in the world are forced to find themselves trapped into. South America kind of gave me a new breath of "yes, travelling foreign and third world countries is possible and yes it is in a way very necessary.. - for me." I'm glad you are enjoying Mayo!! I like the photos, especially the first one! ... Bueno noches para ahora linda chica..
10th October 2006

your home.
Thanks sweetie for the pic. It helps. i can't believe the colors in the 1st picture "on the road to Mayo." The wilderness and majesty of the outdoors is home to you. Your photos all capture the space and freedom and the immensity of nature. You know what captures your heart.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb