A Hard Place to leave...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Regina
August 11th 2005
Published: August 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

francaisfrancaisfrancais

found the digital camera, but all the pictures are a blur because I never stopped dancing. In this picture its evident that I work hard I play hard and I crash hard.
There is something to be said for summer in a place with 9 months of winter every year. Seasonal depression, pasty white skin, and vitimin D deficiencies are abandoned for the glorious heat and girly drinks with umbrellas that are all too common in Saskatchewan in summer.

There's only 8 weekends of decent weather a year in Regina and so each one seems to bring with it a festival or gathering of some sort.

Event #1- Taste of Regina + Flatlands Music Festival

All I need is a pair of dancin shoes and one of those girly drinks with umbrellas; or pilsner that works too. Jack Semple band wailed into the night, joined by the esteemed lead singer of another local favorite Step Chyle... 9 months is a long time to practice the guitar. In fact little dicky semple is gettin pretty good at that thing. I definitely made use of those dancing shoes!

Event #2- Regina Folk Festival

Almost Famous paints pictures of a group of musical giants as they really are.. people, not idols. This weekend I felt as Cameron Crowe must of felt as he sat backstage at his first Still Water concert
craig and charenecraig and charenecraig and charene

some pics from a little going away party I had before my trip. Craig likes form fitting underwear. Charene has a huge crush on me... sorry charene, Im going steady with The world right now.
watching the fingers of his heroes slide from fret to fret.



I walked up the stairs towards Neil's studio as so many times before, passing two extremely gifted and extremely drunk banjo players stumbling down the stairs on my way up. Marijuana smoke billowed from the room as I opened the door and followed the sound of music. Corb Lund, his base player, and a handful of other musical wizards sat in a circle smoking drugs and making music. My life is richer for having witnessed this event.

Other Highlights- Watching Travis Good of the Sadies shotgunning beers in the bar with an unknown East Indian man wearing a blue turbin. Blood trickled from the mans face after that, the can having caught his lip.

-Sarah Harmer getting turned away from the after party by a security guard for not waiting in line.

-A passing smile from my soul mate and theramin pioneer Kerry Mctigh

-I thought she had been in a water fight but it turns out people can sweat that much. The fifty something women wearing nothing but a bra, yelled obscenities, drank others half empty drinks, and horded a box
rhubarb and ben at Scobies Cabinrhubarb and ben at Scobies Cabinrhubarb and ben at Scobies Cabin

the night before my going away party we went to scobies cabin. Legend has it that french kissing a frog brings many years good luck... or is it many years of slight burning durring urination? I cant remember
of wine.

-A folk festival of some significance also went down this weekend -Sarah Sleen (my new girlfriend), The Sadies, The Good Brothers, Nathan, Tons of Fun University, and others created musical fusion. Regina Folk Festival is a gift.

-"I be spittin so much food for thought, soon you'll be shittin books!" - Tons of Fun University

*Pictures to come- you see when you live as fast as I do, you tend to lose things, like your digital camera... the search is on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big Old CakeBig Old Cake
Big Old Cake

"Nail some sluts in England You Jerk Wad #3"... I couldn't have said it better my self. I have great friends.
Jess and GrantJess and Grant
Jess and Grant

Going away party at their house. A good portion of their sodium intake comes directly from eating each others boogers.
Amanda and VirginiaAmanda and Virginia
Amanda and Virginia

thought Id throw in a sexual dragons photo. We won this game by default. Victory never tasted as sweet.


Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb