Two Bikes in One Day


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Moose Jaw
June 20th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Two Bikes in One Day

Wednesday 20 June ‘07

Day 2 was again nice & sunny. Bob drove me to Keeler, from where I intended to bike back to Moose Jaw. Again I was using Silver, this time because Bob had some small work to do on the blue bike and this way he could get it done.

It started out OK, but I was troubled by a squeaking which had begun on Tuesday & which was continuing. On a bicycle, if you’re hearing squeaking, it usually means something’s rubbing, which can really add to the effort needed and possibly damage the bike. When I stopped for my lunch break (good thing I brought a peanut butter sandwich, as there was no restaurant around) I decided that since I was heading to Moose Jaw anyway, I’d switch bikes as I passed the motel. I called Bob & he returned my call & said he’d work on Blue so I could use it. Got there just as he was finishing & we looked at Silver & he said he’d see what he could do - we were thinking it was something with the front wheel alignment or the brakes. (It did have to do with the alignment & fortunately he was able to fix it.)

There are supposed to be two trails good for cycling in the Moose Jaw area so I wanted to find them & try them out. One comes very close to the motel, so I headed for it. It’s a very nice stone dust path, but strangely, it seems to have no access from the road which parallels it, unless you cycle over the grass strip separating the two. And then after a while it rejoins the paved road. I finally went to Main Street & headed downtown, hitting every red light, then came back up the hill, again hitting every red light, finally finishing up at Dairy Queen - hot fudge sundae!

Not the most “satisfying” excursion, but then I don’t expect them all to be - will hope for a better result tomorrow.

DAY 2: With Silver, Keeler to Moose Jaw - 45.9 km, in 2:32 hours, ave. speed 18.1 km/hr, max
speed 25.1 km/hr; continuing around Moose Jaw on Blue - 15.4 km, in 1:28 hours, ave. speed 9.7 km/hr, max speed 22.3 km/hr


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb