Prairies again


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Moose Jaw
July 24th 2021
Published: July 25th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 23. 5459Km.

I was up at six and it was six degrees this morning in Cochrane. I started to wonder how many days or months I’d slept. I had a slice of toast and some yogurt again to make a quick exit. I really should have looked at the route the GPS was taking me on because I went right through Calgary since the Trans Canada Highway is a main street. I came into Cochrane from the South and I should have left that way too but there was very little traffic that time of morning on a Saturday so the delay was minimal.

I’d received a Subway gift card last year on my birthday and finally used some of it today. I usually just pack a bit of cold meat, cheese and crackers for the road but decided today I would stop and get a sandwich. My first stop for fuel was about 10:30 and as luck would have it there was a Subway shop two doors away. Since it had already been several hours since breakfast I ate half of it right away and the other half about 1:30. An Italian BMT if your curious.
Just 652Just 652Just 652

Just a quick 652Km and hang a right

The campground I’m at is a municipal run park along the Moose Jaw River in the Makamow Vally. It’s fairly nice for a government campground. I’ve seen some gravel parking lots in cities they use for camping. I’m here for two nights so I unloaded the bike to give myself some room to move around inside the trailer. I may also go for a ride tomorrow.

I was happily surprised when my firewood was dropped of at my site. It actually appears to be fairly decent wood unlike the soft pine last night. I chopped myself some kindling before supper so it’s ready to go. After a salad, steak and rice I walked a few laps of the park, had a look at the river and here we are ready to light the fire.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A bend!A bend!
A bend!

See, the roads aren’t all straight in the prairies.
This amazes me.This amazes me.
This amazes me.

This is the kind of humidity we have indoors in the winter in Ontario because the furnace dries the air.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb