A Warning


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Moose Jaw
July 7th 2021
Published: July 8th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 6. 2884Km.

I got a roadside education from the RCMP today. It’s been a lot of years since I was stopped last. I don’t know if he was in a good mood or if I showed the proper amount of respect but I’m told I avoided a $1200 fine and I suspect some demerit points as well.

The only constant is change. I did it again. Because the drive from Thunder Bay to Winnipeg is a long one my original plan for today was to make a shorter day and stop in Indian Head, Saskatchewan and then have another long day tomorrow. Having spent an extra day in Winnipeg I decided to go further today and shave some distance off tomorrow’s drive so here I am in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. I still got here about 3:30 even with my brief encounter with the law and a stop for some fuel conditioner at Princess Auto. The prairies have a reputation for being flat and boring. I submit to you a few pictures disproving that. These hills must be 30 or 40 feet tall! The other thing I’ve become aware of is that it’s a slow but constant rise in elevation. I often leave my GPS showing details including elevation and where I am now is about 300 metres higher than Winnipeg. Between that and the constant headwind I figure I should be able to coast most of the way home or at least get a wee bit better fuel mileage.

There are no fires allowed at this particular campground for whatever reason. That’s a bummer because now I don’t know what to do this evening other than watch downloaded movies on the iPad. Since I’m only stopped for one night I didn’t unload the bike so I have nowhere to sit inside to watch the TV either. Oh well, there are worse things.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb