Alexandria - Montréal - Trois Rivieres


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec
August 16th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left Montréal today. It was a very easy ride along la route verte, which by the way is absolutley fantastical. Also la Belle Province has some amazing all-dressed hot-dogs (lunch today). Anyways I had my first minor bike issue today. As I was stopped on the side of the hwy 8 other cyclists (who were clearly touring) offered thier help. What happend is the screw holding the back fender and rack on jiggled loose and I had to locate it and put it back in.
There was a favourable tail wind today, my legs were feeling good, and I was moving fast. I got to where I expected to camp far too early and decided to keep riding. Now I'm only 110km from Quebec instead of 160km. Also this is probably the best campsite yet (provided I dont get poison ivy or asked to leave). I'm sandwiched between hwy 138 and the St. Lawrence on the bottom of a slope. I'm visible from one house but I'm counting on them not being home. Worst case scenario is I bike another 20min. or so and find another spot if asked to leave. Now let me rewind to two days ago on
the borderthe borderthe border

pretty budget signs on these rural roads.
my ride into Montreal.

I met a man named Duncan while crossing the bridge to the island. He biked an hour out of his way to get me to the canal and to give me a tour of all the outlying communities. He loved to talk, and I was content on listening, so that worked out swimmingly. The first night at Alex's we went out (of course) with a few of her friends and Taylor as well, which was a sweet bonus. I was feeling pretty drunk after only 4 beers. Dancing ensued. The next day we rested. Hard. Then walked downtown for a bit and finally watched the strangers (I hope I don't get murderd tonight). and weeds (note to self; there is 2 seasons I need to watch when back in Hali). All in all Alex's hospitality was exquisite and I would be stoked to go surfing with her in the fall if she visits.

Speaking of hospitality, I decided I will cut my Moncton stay to only one night. The rest days right now seem almost too frequent. Already I'm in Quebec city tommorow. Also I really want to stay an extra day at five islands so that I can properly experience the beauty of the bay of fundy. HI Quebec tommorow. I'm hoping to meet other travellers I can make friends with. The camping bit is getting a bit lonely without Trent. That's all for now. Aufwiedersehen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

dinnerdinner
dinner

lead to my campsite (just below)
shippingshipping
shipping

saw alot of these going past.
campsitecampsite
campsite

not so discrete.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb