Explore your surroundings during the pandemic


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Terrebonne
July 31st 2020
Published: July 31st 2020
Edit Blog Post

tree frogtree frogtree frog

I caught this tree frog in the night
Last trip was in Nicaragua and I had to cut it short because of possible closing of borders due to covid-19 pandemic!!! I did well because some canadians were stuck for 3 months and more abroad which is not always easy or practical. :-)

I came back in mid March, at the end of winter. Quebec's government took strong confinement measures at the beginning of the pandemic, but because of a combination of factors, it was the most affected province of Canada. At one point, all regions of the province were closed , but now we are free to move within the province, but always wear a mask in public places.

Many took vacations in the province, and many regions showed camping, or house rentals completely full. Some went to these regions anyway, without reservations, and camped anywhere dumping garbage everywhere, which led to some conflicts!!



Personally, I prefer to stay close to home, and took opportunity to visit my surroundings in small day trips. I'll took big vacations when everything's over.



I took opportunity to 'upgrade my garden', by changing my big plastic pots by metal raised bed gardens. Results and appearance are great!!

I visited trails in forests all around, along with my own backyard. When you take time to observe patiently, you have find interesting things in nature!!!



Look at this tree frog I caught, that sang on my finger!!!


Check too, this very elegant garter snake, I found in my wood pile:




See you next time!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

copycatcopycat
copycat

This butterfly looks like a toxic monarch butterfly but it uses mimicry to fool predators. Can you see the difference?
Raised bed gardenRaised bed garden
Raised bed garden

It is nice and results are pretty good!
colored mushroomcolored mushroom
colored mushroom

some might be toxic but are beautiful


Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 22; qc: 100; dbt: 0.1198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb