The souvenir is finished!


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have finally finished our souvenir for our year in Quebec. Some of you already know that I have been taking carving lessons since the fall. I have always wanted to learn and with the rich history of wood carving in Quebec it seemed like a great place to learn. Luckily there is a wonderful instructor in the area, Monsier Laplante (who was in the military so he also speaks english), and I was able to take 3 sessions from him. First in Deschambault in the fall, then right here in Saint Raymond in winter and finally finishing up back in Deschambault this spring. The first project was a fish. It only took a couple of weeks to finishe and turned out really well. After that you get to pick your project. I said I wanted to do something that would be traditional Quebequois so it would be a good souvenir for me. He suggested a Cabane a Sucre scene. Sounded good but difficult but he assured me I could do it. We found a painting of a sugar shack on the internet. He enlarged it and prepared the wood for me. As you can see in the photo, it
November 8thNovember 8thNovember 8th

results of the first night of carving.
is a wall plaque, relief carved. It is quite large 21" x 28", so it was a rather daunting project and my classmates (who typically had much more experience than me), seemed impressed by my choice. It was a slow project, but in the end it has turned out beautifully. At our last class one of the other carvers was admiring it and joked that he wanted to buy it, but I assured him it was way too expensive! I can't wait to bring it home and hang it above our fire place. In the blog here, I have shown the evolution of the carving over time. The final effect of putting the tinted wax on it made all the difference in the world to bring out the details and give it extra depth.

Hope you all enjoy it. I have now started a mirror frame. I got it part done in our last 2 classes of the session so will now have to finish it on my own.
To get a better view of the carvings, you probaby have to click on them so they enlarge for viewing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

November 10thNovember 10th
November 10th

Starting to work on the sleigh.
December 5thDecember 5th
December 5th

Starting to define the main trees
December 27thDecember 27th
December 27th

Most of the rough work is done
April 1April 1
April 1

Getting close to completion


17th May 2011

the carving Tracy is amazing great job you are very talented.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb