Montreal


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal » Old Montréal
March 13th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, now onto stage 2 of Mission get Amy around the world! I managed to get myself to the airport on time leaving new york at 5:30am to make the train to Newark. Poor Pat had to lug my big pack pack across the city for me as I didn't have the strength with this flu! I got myself checked in and got selected for a random search at customs! They took swabs from my bags and shoes and put them through a machine, also had a body search-was a little scared!

I got to Toronto airport and it was absolutely dead, nobody else around but a lady on a trolley! I asked about the shuttle bus to get me downtown but she was pretty useless and didn't help at all. When I got on the bus the driver was so moody, I think he must have soemthing against the English as he was pleasant enough to everyone else we picked up on the way. When I got to my stop, the bus driver literaly threw my backpack on the floor and drove off! I had no idea where I was going to so I got out the map. A chinese lady came to rescue me and offered to walk me to the hostel. I ddin't know what to expect as my first impression of Toronto wasn't good!

As soon as I got into the hostel I knew it'd be great. There was awesome chilled music playing, little fairy lights and a lounge filled with people my age. I met 2 lads from Kent and a girl called Lucy from Leeds. Lucy was also going to be on my tour for the next week. I got myself sorted and headed down to the lounge for some free mugs of tea. We met a cool aussie dude called Chad, what an aussie name!! People kept appearing at the table so in the end we sent a couple of the girls on a beer run and started drinking. After hours of chatting and laughing we decided we'd get ready and head out to a bar around the corner. Me, Lucy and 6 lads! It was a fun night.

So, 4 hours sleep later, the Moose bus picks up me and the Loosta for the tour. We drove for 6 hours to get to Montreal. The first stop was Mont Royale where we were supposed to get a great view of the city, only the fog was so bad that we couldn't see anything. We later stopped at the old city which was really pretty and a couple of other places. The hostel is ok, quite big and impersonal but we're leaving in half an hour to Quebec for some more sight seeing. Tomorrow we hit the ski slopes and the day after we get to go dog sledding!! Yay!!

Until then, Miss you all.

Lots of love,
Amy xxxxxx

Advertisement



14th March 2006

Hello Trouble
Sounds like you're having a great time. Keep it up and keep Smiling!!!xxxx

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb