Quebec City


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
March 16th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, day one in Quebec City was one of my favourite days yet. We woke at around 7am in time to have breakfast and leave for the slopes. The breakfast was free, included in the hostel so Lucy and I took FULL advantage! We had toast which was made less boring by the fact that to cook it we had to use one of those foreign balance your bread on a rotating toaster things! We also had cereal, a bagel, a muffin, fruit, tea and orange juice.

We got to the slopes and were a little worried as the weather was not all that great. But by the time we got up on the slopes after getting sorted with skis etc, it was perfect. I was a little apprehensive at first having not done it for so long, but I soon got the hang of it again. I haven't laughed so much in ages, as I did on that day. We had come off a blue run and were headng down a narrow stretch with a drop on one side of us, and a big bank of snow the other side. Now Lucy, who had never been skiing before, came whizzing down past me yelling "I can't stop, how do I stop?!" I told her to try to turn...not wanting to slide off the cliff she went straight into the side of the snow bank. But as she was going so fast, she actually embedded herself in the snow, skis were nowhere to be seen. We literally had to dig her out of the mountain! I then managed to somehow fall knee deep into some snow that hadn't been compacted! I tried to pull my leg free but it wouldn't budge...a really cute rescue man gave me a hand so it wasn't all bad!

Then today, we went dog sledding! The most amazing expererience of my life so far I think. I'll upload some pics as soon as I can. The huskies were so adorable. I did however, forget to break and the sledge ran into the back of one of the dogs...the dog didn't take too kindly to that, looked back at me and gave me a big moan, I felt so guilty!!

After that, we headed to the Ice hotel. A whole building made of ice, beds made of ice, the club was made of ice...we even had shots out of ice glasses! It was a fantastic thing to experience.

Now I'm just in Mont Tremblant, ready for another day of skiing tomorrow! This is so much fun!
X x x xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



19th March 2006

POOR DOGGY
Hey Meems, I thought your driving had improved!!
20th March 2006

Well this isnt really about Quebec City
HI amy, its luke, I hope you are having a good time in Quebec City, i hope that you have had a good journey so far and i hope it all goes well and I really miss you and I cant wait till you come back home. Love Luke xxx p.s. did you have a good time in New york please write back Love Luke xxxx
21st March 2006

hope ur ok
hiya Amy, just a quick note..... i hope ur ok and everything is going fine.have fun look after urself.... Julee
27th March 2006

Mwah X
Hey meems! How cute was Luke's message?!? Your photos are FAB!!! I just managed to log on and look at them all finally!!! Glad you're having so much fun.... speak soon chick! Love you mills and squills! xXx

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1003s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb