Living the Quiet Life...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Gaspésie
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wood-WorkingWood-WorkingWood-Working

Leaving in the moring to worg in the woods with Gerald (in the red shirt). The dog Julius accomanied me in the trailer of the 4-wheeler on the bumpy ride through the back trails.
Well things have certainly calmed down since last week. Sadio and I have settled in with Ginette and Gerald who call us their 'new family'. Along with being part of the family comes many household chores, rules and responsibilities. Among those is the 1 hour a week computer time. It's rawwwther difficult following someone else's rules as I'm used to making my own. Hmmph.

Thursday was my first official day of work, although I feel like I started working on the day I got here. Ginette showed us how to clean the 5 rooms in the B and B and we served breakfast at 8am. I have to admit I am a little dissapointed with my work placement, I was expecting something agriculture-related and was actually looking forward to doing something completely different and challenging. But I guess this will have it's own challenges...I am just having trouble finding the valour in mopping floors, changing sheets and making ABSOLUTELY sure that the glass is perfectly arranged on it's doilie. The agricultural part of the placement is working in the garden, which is what we did Friday afternoon. On Friday morning I went into the woods with Gerald and collected and
Ginette and SadiouGinette and SadiouGinette and Sadiou

Ginette showing if a moth that she found. This is as close as I would get to her.
stacked firewood for a few hours. This was much more enjoyable for me, and I got some satisfaction out of seeing what I had accomplished.

Other than that, I'm living the lifestyle of a retiree. There is one family nearby (a 20 min walk) who have two CWY volunteers who I suspect I will be spending a lot of time with. Surprisingly, this hasn't bothered my yet and I've been enjoying my time reading, playing guitar, doing puzzles, and talking with Ginette. Sadio is still very shy, and everyday it is challenging to communicate with her and takes a lot of energy to be accpeting and not resentlful with her one word answers and sometimes demanding comments. But we are getting along.

Today Sadio, Myriam and Fatoumata (the other 2 CWY ppl close by) went into Matane and saw the new Harry Potter movie. It's lucky I read the book as I understood about 20% of the French! We just finished cleaning up after dinner, we had the Quebecois specialty Pate Chinoise (ground beef, corn and mashed potato casserole). Tomorrow we are going on a hike with the family and Monday it's backing to making beds and washing
This is considered a farm?This is considered a farm?This is considered a farm?

Weeding the garden with Sadio and Gerald.
mirrors. I think I will find myself looking forward to our group educational activity days (on Wednesdays) when I can see friends and civilization.

That's all for now, I think I'll spend this exciting Saturday night reading and maybe even colouring a Mandala (Ginette's fav). Trying to focus my energy towards working as hard as I can and not towards questioning everything I do, this proves to be very difficult for me!

xoxoxooCelina


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Staking Tomato PlantsStaking Tomato Plants
Staking Tomato Plants

We got about an hour of work done before it started raining. Haven't had a hot July day yet.
Sadiou and JuliusSadiou and Julius
Sadiou and Julius

Do not be deceived, this is only a photo opt. Sadiou is scared of dogs and Julius is usually kept tied up:(


19th July 2009

yoga of small steps
Wow, that sounds like learning to make friends gradually. On the Farm, we used to call the life you describe a yoga--something hard to get along with or hard to accept. But that you learn from, not necessarily knowing what you will be learning! It must be hard for Sadiou too, being in a whole new culture. Well, you're both in a new culture, at least she is Francophone??
21st July 2009

great update! I remember pate chinois from my days in Hull! xoxox

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb