June 4, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Gaspésie
June 4th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

coastal roadcoastal roadcoastal road

somewhere east of Rimouski
Day 4. 1917km
I finally slept past sun up today so did'nt break camp till about 11am. After a quick stop at The Source for a fuse for my electric cooler I rejoined my traveling companion from the day before, HWY 132, and continued down the coast. The first couple hundred klicks were, as expected, reasonably flat running along the waters edge. I stopped at the IGA in Matane for some lunch supplies and a steak for dinner. After lunch is when it got interesting. The terrain started to roll and so did the road. Grades from nine to 15 degrees were the norm. I was glad to be driving a diesel for the torque. The only thing that would have been better is if it had the 6 speed stick behind it.
I was excited to see some wind turbines dotting the hills. I even stopped to have a look at a huge vertical turbine. These have not caught on the same as the traditional horizontal turbines being erected around the world.
Fortunately the waves were fairly tame so I could just chuckle at the warning on the signs.
Arriving at Gaspe at 7:30 I refueled a thirsty Dodge from the hilly terrain and found a campground. This is the second place that has a motel and camp ground together. I don't remember this combination when I was camping as a kid but who knows... at least they have WiFi.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

fallsfalls
falls

occasionally there would be a water fall
turbinesturbines
turbines

there were several patches of them
turbinesturbines
turbines

not nearly as big as the ones going up in Ontario but nice to see
Darrieus vertical turbineDarrieus vertical turbine
Darrieus vertical turbine

4200kW vertical turbine at Cap Chat, QC is the worlds largest with a 100m diameter. It is no longer operational due to main bearing failure
wave warningwave warning
wave warning

glad I did'nt have to deal with this
HWY constructionHWY construction
HWY construction

these guys don't believe in doing one side at a time
ice rinkice rink
ice rink

you know it's cold in winter when...
Gaspe camp siteGaspe camp site
Gaspe camp site

backed right against the bay


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb