Travelling Reunions


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
April 28th 2013
Published: April 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After several days of nothing but driving the past two days seem like they've been a flurry of activity. We saw the Horseshoe falls at Niagara. It is completely amazing! I knew it was big, but its still awe inspiring to see it in person and up close. It also felt good just to be out of the car and walking around. My legs are becoming mush. We decided not to do the Maid of the Mist tour and opted to do the Journey Behind the Falls instead. In my head I envisioned a 'Last of the Mohicans' style walk on wet rocks through caverns created by the rushing water with maybe a railing or wall in place for safety. I should know by now that tourist excursions are never as glamorous as you imagine them! In fact the walk behind the falls is through a man made tunnel that is completely covered over ad leads to two tiny lookout points where you can see the water rushing in front of you. Not even overhead, only in front of you. So sad! We walked back around the falls for a bit and took a million photos before we headed back uphill for some lunch and some afternoon Starbucks. It was such a beautiful day that I couldn't resist a latte on the patio.

Afterwards we headed to Niagara on the Lake. What an adorable town! We parked the car by the lake and wandered about on foot for a couple of hours. We popped in to a couple of artists galleries and had tea on the main strip. The houses were the main feature as they are all from the early 1800's. Very cute! Again, it just felt good to get out and walk around on a warm sunny day!

We didn't stay in the region again overnight and headed to Toronto instead to meet up with a friend from my Egyptian travels. She gave us a little night time driving tour of the city and took us to a great little restaurant for a late supper before indulging us with three bottles of wine. The next morning was not so fun! I very rarely drink so it did me in. We headed to Ottawa in the morning, and the drive was pretty rough. There is a reason I don't drink! Eventually we made it to Ottawa where we met up with another friend from the same tour (I think our tour was half Canadians) and she treated us to a quiet night in with a fantastic supper and the most delicious home made truffles. We are still in Ottawa but I think my sister wants to hit the road right away. We haven't explored the city at all, but she's been here before and just wants to leave. Sad for me, but at the same time I don't want to explore with a grouchy sister. That's no fun. I can always come back. Its a sunny day, perfect for a long drive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb