Going Alone


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
January 28th 2010
Published: January 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I tell people about my trip one of the most common questions out of their mouths is “are you doing this trip alone?” The answer is yes and no.

I am going alone to Southeast Asia, but I am touring with a tour company. So while I may be flying in alone I will be spending most of my time with others. I have seen Israel and the highlands of Scotland with group tours. I met some amazing people on these tours and I met most of them within the first 24 hours.

When I get to Europe and riding the rails around the French countryside I will probably meet people at the Hostels. I have in the past when traveling solo and with others. I found when traveling solo people are more likely to approach you and you are more likely to approach them when you don’t have a companion as a security blanket.

Even though I will probably meet people, what is so bad about being alone? I know safety-wise you are more at risk, especially in my case being a young female. Muggers and killers aside, being alone is not so bad. It is a concept that I’ve been playing with over the past year. Those of you who know me know that I dated a young gentleman for close to 4 years. After that I dated here and there but I kept coming back to wanting to be single. I want to be alone. I want to be more in tune with that. I want to be more focused on me. It may sound a bit self-centred and maybe a bit hokey pokey, but hey it’s the truth and it is definitely the best time in my life to do that.

I think I take after my father in that I am very comfortable inside my own head. I enjoy curling up with a book for hours and escaping into a fictional world. I am definitely a social creature too. I get cabin fever quite often when hanging out at home for too long. It comes down to a balance. I feel like in the past I have relied too much on the social side of the scale for happiness. *Thank you Sarah for that insight*. I have been trying to rebalance the scale this past year. This trip will be a big part of this rebalancing.

I am looking forward to flying through the air alone. I am looking forward to taking in the luscious landscape of the French and Belguim landscape alone. I look forward to visiting the doorsteps of a Buddhist temple in Cambodia alone. I am looking forward to this adventure which is my adventure.


Advertisement



29th January 2010

"Muggers and Killers aside..." Lol no biggie! Very well written entry. I especially like the last paragrah. It ties the blog up in a nice little package. I really enjoyed it and I think you are so right about it being the right time to be single for you. You always make friends wherever you go so I know you won't be alone for long. However, when you want to be you can be and thats just perfect. Excited for you but also sad that your leaving so soon!
30th January 2010

Have fun honey can't wait to see you again in May xx
18th February 2010

Good on you girl!
Hello Woman!! I understand what you are going thru, and let me just say that having read your blogs, am completely jealous and cannot wait to get on my trip!! I miss you terribly and can't wait to see you again to hear all about your travels!! Love you and take care little miss!!! xo

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb