Heading Home


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Windsor
June 11th 2014
Published: June 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This is my last blog as all good things must come to an end. Bill and I are heading home after five weeks on the road and after travelling well over 10.000 km.



We have journeyed through Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Minnesota, North and South Dakota, Montana, Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, Idaho, Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa and Missouri as well as Alberta and British Columbia. We have seen most of the popular tourist areas in each of these states and provinces, as well as some remote areas as we took one too many forks in the road.



I asked Bill what his favourite place was and he replied, “Our stay in Deadwood South Dakota and visiting Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Spearfish Canyon and the Badlands” For me, the journey down the pacific coast highway, especially through Oregon was the best.



For us, a road trip is not simply driving to a destination. It is a journey that changes you in many ways. You see new things, gain new knowledge, meet new people, learn new customs and values, and perhaps, most significant, share the journey with each other.



While we were gone, life, of course continues. My sister celebrated an important birthday, my nephew and his new wife celebrated their marriage, my son was transferred to Alberta, my other son grew a beard, my oldest grandson turned 17 and my family honoured little Danny on his birthday with a candlelight vigil. My two youngest grandchildren expressed their desire for Nana and Papa to come home. They were both worried about our safety when we encountered the tornado in Iowa and to quote Kale “tell Nana and Papa to be careful as the tornado could suck them in”!



It is with mixed feelings that we end this journey. It has been the greatest trip (despite the bad weather) and yet, I miss my grandchildren, children and family.



I appreciate those of you who have followed this blog and I hope, in some ways, I have managed to bring all of you along with us on the journey. I urge you to also take your own journey, wherever, because the destination does not matter.



To quote:



<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">“The most important reason for journeying from one place to another is to see



<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;"> what is in between and Bill and I have taken great pleasure in doing that.”



Til next time...........



P.S To our children, we tried really hard to spend your inheritance, but, not to worry, there is a little bit left!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb