Ride Towards Chapleau


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Wawa
August 15th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ride Towards Chapleau

Wednesday, 15 August 2007

Today I had another fabulous ride. Finally! I took Blue & went up highway 101, heading north out of Wawa towards Chapleau, where there is a huge game reserve. There are also quite a few logging operations and gravel pits along that road, as well as lakes, hunting camps, etc. There were lots of hills again, about 50 of various sizes & slopes, and I can almost say I enjoyed them. A few times I heard sounds in the bush, like a deer getting startled, but I didn’t see any. The only indication of deer came a bit out of Wawa, where the GUTS of some poor animal (probably a deer) were along the side of the road. I imagine someone had hit a deer maybe the night before and had decided to “gut” it then & there & take the carcass home - I mean, if one enjoys deer meat you know it’s not spoiled or anything like that. It’s probably better than leaving it to rot along the shoulder. (At least in my humble opinion…)

Bob meanwhile took Panna to a local beach and a walking area, but he couldn’t let her off-leash because there were too many people around. But his big “thrill” was two sightings of a bear, right near our section of the motel. He’s not sure if it was the same bear twice or if it was two different bears, but he was NOT impressed! And this time he got photos, at least the 2nd time he saw it. He wonders how he’s been “blessed” with these sightings, when I’ve not seen any. Of interest, one time the bear came up a path that’s right behind my room onto a small grassy portion which I’ve used for Panna’s “potty place”. I’d been thinking of going down that path with her to get down to the river, but I think I’ll pass…

Due to the computer problems, and maybe also due to the bear presence, we’ve decided to leave a day early for Sault Ste Marie, where there are a few computer shops, and where I hope to get this thing resolved - it turns out one is right near our motel there. Too bad, ‘cause I’d have loved to go back to highway 101 and continue from where I’d stopped today.

DAY 48: 64.0 km, in 3:20 hours, ave. speed 19.1 km/hr, max. speed 46.8 km/hr



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb