The Centre Of The Canadian Universe


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 14th 2017
Published: April 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Dinner in Winnipeg Dinner in Winnipeg Dinner in Winnipeg

We met up with Ms. Mcivor's 3 skills participants for supper in Winnipeg the night before the trip.
I sit in an intimate and elaborately outfitted internet bar/cafe in Pearson Airport with about 1000 others. The din of conversations is punctuated by glasses clinking and cutlery scraping plates. Someone is munching on potato chips neraby enough that the crunch is palpable. While not as packed as it was in December when I was on my way through to Paris, it is busy enough with some groovy alternative tunes, and I am reminded that living in the north means places with almost the population of my town make me feel frazzled and unsettled. Too much noise and much invasion of my space. My lack of sleep over the past two nights is catching up with me. That is actually okay because I need to sleep on the plane. I really, really need to sleep. Looking around where kids sit amongst other automatons who are plugged into virtual reality whilst they while away their time until their departures. 2 guys sit drinking beer gambling electronically. Very "Big Brother" I have ordered 2 bottles of Perrier via the tablet at my table, and even paid using the pin pad. No. Human. Contact. That works right now. Only in Toronto does one get
The Happy Travellers The Happy Travellers The Happy Travellers

Before we left Winnipeg a group picture.
the world's most expensive water. Eeeeesh. They are calling the final boarding call for Brussels which seems surreal. I am lugging my carry on luggage, a giant maple syrup for the Tour Director Lewis, and feeling sweaty and too warm. Did I mention sleep sounds overly attractive? Jon and Ian sit across from me. Behind them is 12 meter floor to ceiling windows and blue sky. The girls are huddled together whispering about what is to come. There's out boarding announcement. Here we go.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Shoe Shine? Shoe Shine?
Shoe Shine?

Ian gets all shined up for the trip.
Greek in Toronto Greek in Toronto
Greek in Toronto

A break in Toronto.
Pad ThaiPad Thai
Pad Thai

A la Pearson International. It was tasty.
The No Server Restaurant The No Server Restaurant
The No Server Restaurant

The "Big brother" beverages.
Jon & Ian Jon & Ian
Jon & Ian

Charging up in Toronto.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb