To-toronto


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Good evening, or should I say good morning since it's now 12:14 am Toronto time? I should be in bed by now but it's only 9:14 Vancouver time so I'm NOT sleepy and very refreshed after a shower... I love the shower here at Sheraton, it has hot water and a high pressure showerhead, just what my body needed after a delayed flight stuck in the middle of three seats.

Travel Lesson #1: Hold on to your boarding pass and passport for dear life! We were boarding the plane and the passenger in front of us dropped his boarding pass through the small gap between the plane and the end of the corridor from the boarding gate as we watched in horror!!! They let him on since he passed the boarding gate already, but imagine the panic if it was his passport that slipped through the crack O_o

At least things got better from there - my Mom got in touch with our sort of long-lost relatives yesterday (she hasn't seen them in 20 years or something, I think they're her uncles/cousins on my grandpa's side) and they managed to round up people to pick us up from the airport and go out to dinner in Scarborough. Apparently it's a suburb with lots of Chinese people and Pacific Mall, so I suppose it is the Richmond of Toronto =) Pacific Mall is a Honger mall which actually feels a lot more like HK malls with tiny shops instead of expansive outlets like Aberdeen or Parker Place. We dined there as well, a party of lucky 13 and it was fun! We had never meet these people before (well, Candy and I hadn't) but they were very friendly and someone offered to take us out during her lunch hour. More relatives will also come out to dinner on Wednesday night at probably Red Lobster - no idea if it's good or not.

I just realized we don't have much time in Toronto at all: tomorrow we're going to hit a Granville Island-like place for breakfast according to my sister, then CN tower, then lunch with the relative while Candy drops by a marketing firm for her Disney internship. Then it's ShOpPiNg!!! :D Eaton Centre and Queen Street West, maybe Holt's? I'm not sure how much we can get to but we'll try our best. Plus I'd like to have some poolside time at Sheraton since the photos look gorgeous with an indoor/outdoor pool and lounge chairs. Ahhhhhhhh...

Will upload photos tomorrow - and I can't believe Holland's out of the World Cup!!! Now I only have Brazil to cheer for... well Argentina is spiffy too... =)

Advertisement



26th June 2006

post pics damnit! go check rfd for deals at pacific mall. are you in richmond hill? and england will win the cup!
26th June 2006

Shopping is a good sport too
Oh I'm so very jealous! You must MUST go to Queen St no matter what and do put your face against the window at Muchmusic so the rest of the country can see you on the next Much on Demand or something like that. ; ) BE SAFE!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.2kb