End of Phase 2


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last day of phase 2 of mission get Amy around the World! This last week has been amazing.

The second ski day at Mont Tremblant was fantastic, although the temperature reached around -20 degrees, I'm shocked I still have fingers! We headed to Ottawa for the last day and a half of the tour and stayed in a jail house! The hostel used to be a jail house with a death row section. It was really freaky. The lads on our tour actually got placed in a room which hadn't been converted, i.e it was an actual cell. We explored the death row block which really freaked me out. I took a photo of one of the cells, apparently known to be haunted, and as the flash went off, I got a really strong stench of burning rubber, or people or something. I pretty much ran out after that. So, that was st Patricks day. We headed out into town to join the celebrations but failed misserably. After queing for an hour outside a scottish pub (as all the irish ones were packed) we got told only half of us could go in! We decided to go back to the hostel as it was -18degrees outside and wee were very annoyed. Lucy and I ended up meeting 2 German lads called Bob and Knob and just chilled on the sofas until about 3:30am. Obviously we didn't wake in time for the 9am tour of parliament- what a shame!

We convinced a couple of people on our tour to join us in our hostel so the past couple of days have been a lot of fun too. Yesterday we went up the CN tower, a bit of a disappointment after the top of the rock in NY but it had to be done. Today, I went on a day trip to Naigra with some people from the hostel and a few others which was really fun. We stopped off to do some wine tasting and I got to sample some Ice wine. I now know how to taste wine properly daddy!! We got to experience the falls when they were still quite frozen and also when they were lit up at dark. I cannot believe how tacky Niagra is! Niagra on the Lake was gorgeous though.

So tomorrow, off to catch my train to Jasper, 48 hours of pain, wish me luck! xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb