Glass Floors, HELL NO!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 11th 2009
Published: April 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Been a few days - done alot of stuff...not going to bore you with the details of everything i have been doing. currently in Georgetown with my Uncle and his family for Easter weekend, which is just outside of Toronto.

I am sorry to say I did not get taught how to track animals fully, just a breifing as we over slept the day we left Quebec.

We drove back a different route via the Eastern Townships which are lovely area of Quebec. Very green and colourful, with snow! Saw some roadkill which was coooooool but unfortunatly we didnt make any. I spotted it and we came to a pretty sudden stop on a highway just to get out and see it. My aunt had informed that this is the time of year for Sugaring Off (process of making maple syrup), so I insisted that we did it to the fellow travellers - we drove around random towns looking for it and asked a guy in a petrol station who directed us to this fantastic place about a 5 Minute drive away. It was brilliant.

We pulled up into this old school farmhouse with loads of trees with silver buckets hanging off them. Which was cool, then went in and sorted out a explanation on how the process works which was good, and got to try some fresh tree sap which was nice and sweet water. My first expereince with maple syrup was what they do with snow and the syrup. They pour it onto the snow and let it freeze a bit, then you use a lolly stick and role it up to munch it away! Is delicious! Further more we went into the farmhouse and there was some French Canadian folk music band playing with a load of OAPs from a nearby town... they loved us as they never got tourists in that part of town so that was an experience, amazingly they still talk and say the same things that granny's and granddads do back in the UK!

Stayed in Montreal for a couple of days just to sort myself out and moved onto Toronto....

TORONTO!

First night in Toronto - as soon as i got to hostel - went out to Greek town with a freind (jess) and her mates for dinner - locals of Toronto which was awesome as you experience a different side of the city! Went onto a icecream shop with the biggest menu i had ever seen....so much food everywhere! Then onto a sweetie shop where i was convinced by the new found Canadian freinds to try A) Warheads B) Fruit Stripes C) Saltwater Taffy.

A) Blow your head off with sourness - horrible things!
B) Yummy fruity chewing gum that you get a FREE tatoo with!
C) Foul, saltly, dry, disgusting.

Spend the next day trying too get my camera repaired as the lense broke....got a quote of $200 but for that price I could buy a new one and other was still under warranty. Was a pain though as I didnt want to see sites until i got a camera for pics of it and didnt want to lug disposables around. So a few days of not doing the big things in Toronto!

In the morning one of the lads from the night before (Alvaro, he is a football encylopedia) showed me an old school english pub (one of the oldest in toronto apparently) that showed the football (arsenal city) ...which was great as met a few other arsenal fans that day!

In the evening went out with some students I met in Montreal from Toronto for one of their freinds birthdays which was a great night! Random mix of me the Brit, Canadians and Americans all mega freindly and a great laugh. Its always good to get in with the locals for where to go and hanging out - I think you experience the city life alot more...as you see how they live.

In the queue (or line I now should start to say) to the bar; I was accused by a Canadian of having a fake British accent, and she claimed her boyfreind could do a much better impression - which was very amusing. I did not have my passport on me to whip it out and show her where I was from =(

Learnt the brilliant Canadian way to make a grilled cheese sandwich - Marble chedder is the key as is a potato peeler.....you peel the cheese! Wack loadssssssssss of butter on the outside of the bread then wack it in a hot pan. Delicious!

Went to the Royal Musuem of Ontario which was complete wank, appart from I got to see a real mummy which was coooooooool as well as "the book of the dead" which was a story of how to be accepted into heaven...kinda coool.

Got shown around later that day by Jess... random walking of Toronto - saw some weird things... She took me to a lovely Czech resturant which was yum yum and i had "vepro Kedlo Zelo" ie: pork and dumplings was damn tasty. Got sprayed with Egg Nog perfume which stunk, bad! Got introduced to the wonders of Yogen Fruiz.....omg sooooo good. frozen yoghurt with fresh fruit blended together - so so so nice. I managed to put the polite english man voice on to get the store to re open just for me as I was leaving the next day. They lapped it up! Was a random day but awesome got to see loads of Toronto and their culture that day - which was great!

Next couple of days didnt do too much as the weather was horrible...rain, snow and freezing. Jo and Luke joined me in Toronto which was great to be reunited with some of the gang. Jo took us to a cafe which she insisted had been recommend for a great place to go, especially for nice greasy fry ups....

it was fucking vegetarian!!!! WHAT IS THAT ABOUT?! 2 veggie sausages with egg and toast.....2 veggie bacon rashers with egg and toast....

Was not impressed. One bit. Ruined my day.

Went up the CN Tower on Wednesday. AMAZING Views, i mean AMAZINGGGGGGGG. Got a completely clear sky day which was great. I am not bad with heights, but I am dredful with straight drops. The Glass floor of that Tower is possibly the most scary thing I have ever experienced....I mean it was just horrible, so not right. But totally worth doing.

If your ever in Toronto and want after hours booze - you need to head to china town, look for the restuarnts that look busy and ask for a "cold tea". And if you want to spot some weirdos, just go the the Horseshoe bar on Queen street West. Sit outside with a beer and you will see a huge number of absolutely bonkers people. One sticks out - a man weearing bright pink lyrca trousers with a tight bright yellow top.....and from the behind view a brightpink thong just sticking out the top of his lycra trousers. Useful travel tips!

Came back to Georgetown to my Uncles today for the weekend. Had a big Easter dinner with my Aunties side of the family which was really good. Typical North American style families. Loved it!

I believe they are taking me to Niagara Falls Tomorrow which I hope is Spectacular as everyone has made it out to be.

Until next time.......

Advertisement



11th April 2009

HAHAHA you had to eat veggie fooooood

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb