June 20, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Timmins
June 20th 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 20. 7117Km
I knew I had a lot of ground to cover and had no idea what the road was going to be like. The map indicated it was paved but being so remote was it just a logging road that had the crap beat out of it? Once underway there is no option but to continue or turn around. This is the only road up here.
I got propane in Roberval and topped up on diesel in Saint-Felicien. I had half a tank which under normal conditions, even with the trailer, would take me the 220Km to Chapais but why risk it? As it turned out the road to Chapais was'nt bad at all. It's flatter than I expected. There are farms for a while out of Saint-Felicien before it turns to bush, bush and more bush. George, Jeb and George Jr.
I was pleasantly surprised to see two places to buy fuel as I approached what we'll call the half way point. One at the intersection of HWYs 167 and 113 and another right in Chapais. I added 49 litres in Chapais and started on the second leg of the days trip. This time it's a little over 300Km to civilization. In Amos another 87 litres and someone who spoke fairly good English.
Had I come upon a camp ground at this point I probably would have stopped but in the back of my mind I wanted to cross the border into Ontario today. I did, and then some. No campground signs and no cell service to search for any either. I switched maps and headed to Iroquois Falls. Once I got close I got a cell signal and google'd a site nearby. Of course if I had just kept driving I would have seen the giant sign anyway but having covered over 950Km today I wanted to stop and stop ASAP.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

emergency phonesemergency phones
emergency phones

every 10Km up HWY 167. Hwy 113 you are on your own. There is no cell service up here
something new!something new!
something new!

the power line crossed the road
a familiar sitea familiar site
a familiar site

an Erb truck from New Hamberg making a delivery in Amos


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb