TransCan - Thunder Bay


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks,
Taking a rest day in Thunder Bay. I've been riding for several days now with a couple from Frankfurt Germany. They rode from Frankfurt to Amsterdam and then took a container ship to Montreal! We're currently staying in a Hostel (reminds me of my college days) in Thunder Bay. He's pulling a trailer and they are definitley going for comfort including having a lap top with them! They took a 1 year leave of absence from work and are planning on heading to Asia when they get to Vancouver.
Tomorrow I'll be heading west and a visit to Kankabeka Falls and they're thinking of swinging into the US for a few days.
The cold and rain continues and as a result the black flies are relentless!!!
Yesterday we stopped in Eagle Canyon to hike the canyon and cross the longest suspension bridge in Canada. At the campground they told us they hadn't seen a bear in 3 years. Up to that point I had either been hanging my food in a tree or storing it overnight in the camp washroom. Got complacent with what we were told and so naturally during my middle of the night nature call I noticed a trash can knocked over and a good sized black bear. Luckily as soon as he saw me he ran off! Took care of business and then woke up Christophe and Iris and got our food up to the washroom and took my bear spray into the tent with me!
I've also seen 2 Moose so far.
Manitoba soon, but everyone we pass has been warning us about the roads with no shoulders and the truck traffic in Manitoba. A week or so ago, a father and son team were hit and killed. They were riding highway 17 but my route for the most part bypasses 17. So far the trucks - transports - have been really good about moving over when ever possible.
The great time continues, meeting wonderful people really makes the trip!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb