Canadian Booty: Half A World Away


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sarnia
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at the insane hour of 2am while Caelis was still up chatting on the Internet, even though it felt like I had been asleep for over ten hours. My teeth were still playing knock and run on my nerves so I brushed them over before going back to sleep and not waking up for another ten hours.

When I finally awoke, Tash and Spencer wanted to show me their Halloween costumes. Halloween is another big celebration here that has little or no showing in Australia. Tash had some devil horns but Spencer is always the show off and he got into an outfit that had everyone blushing! He was parading around showing off his ample assets and it seemed that only he could be the one to get into this outfit. I tried his wig on but it just didn’t have as much impact as it did with Spencer wearing it.

We took off to a nearby mall for lunch and had a look around. There was a Wal-Mart that we paid a visit to and I saw my own camera here, on sale! That would be right! The DVD players here are dirt cheap
Tash and SpencerTash and SpencerTash and Spencer

I told Spencer that he looks like Prince!!!!!
too, but it’s a shame that they operate on different power supplies and a different playing system as well, not to mention the region code blocks. It’s so unfortunate that I can’t take home any of the DVDs here either since they are too the wrong region and the wrong playing format, so I will have to contend with taking a lot of photos with my once expensive digital camera.

There are plenty of opportunities to take photos down on Lake Huron. It is a bit chilly and Caelis is probably mad in the head since he is down here in a t-shirt. Thankfully, my hoodie provides layers of warmth and is supplemented when posing for photos with the others. Spencer keeps warm by chasing the geese around the lake and ends up losing his packet of cigarettes to them.

Later on that night, Roy and Tera (more of Tash’s friends) come over to visit for dinner and end up staying the night. Also, one of Spencer’s friends come over and it’s now some kind of informal gathering. It turns out that we’re having a big dinner thing tonight because there’s a visitor from overseas. Hang on, that is me! I am so chuffed. Tash has decided to have another Thanksgiving style dinner tonight while I am here. If I was Bill Murray in Groundhog Day, Thanksgiving Day is my choice of day that I would want repeated over and over and over again.

We stay up and chat after devouring Tash’s Spaghetti Bolognaise while listening to a radio station broadcasting out of Detroit. The on-air DJ tells us that there is some Lionel Ritchie coming on air soon but there was no such thing. Three hours later and finally, not only does the DJ decide to play Lionel’s songs but also some songs from the Commodores, all in the space of half an hour. A night with a hearty meal, good friends and great songs off the radio, how many times does this happen? Especially half a world away?



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

What goes on tour...What goes on tour...
What goes on tour...

even i had a go at the Halloween Hijinks!
Spencer's friendsSpencer's friends
Spencer's friends

talk about a goosechase!
..probably flying away with his cigarettes!..probably flying away with his cigarettes!
..probably flying away with his cigarettes!

That will teach you to mess with them!!!
Tash and SpencerTash and Spencer
Tash and Spencer

I like this shot
CaelCael
Cael

Grey skies are gonna clear up, put on a happy face...
TashieTashie
Tashie

she says..bye bye!


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb