Home!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
August 20th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My african adventure

Our route from beginning to end

Well I made it home. After 2 months of traveling it was nice to make it back onto Canadian soil! I was very fortunate to not be traveling through Heathrow in London so I made it back uneventfully. I was very impressed that everything was on time and there weren't any glitches-I think that was a first on our entire trip. We left John and Danika in Zanzibar to enjoy a few more days on the beach before continuing on with their journey and possibly climbing Mt. Meru and Karlee and I headed back to Stonetown. Since we weren't sure if we were going to be able to catch the bus in the morning and it was our only ticket home we decided to dig into our wallets one last time and flew from Stonetown to Nairobi. What a relief to not have to take another 16hour bus ride!

With our extra time we were able to spend a few hours at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust facility playing with the baby elephants, which was very cool. The elephants have an amazingly complex social structure and it was really neat to hear about the organization and the work they do. Did you know that elephants aren't weaned until 2 years of age! We left Nairobi Thursday afternoon and headed for Addis Abbaba and after a short stopover we flew to Paris. I left Karlee in Paris as she headed to Scotland for a week and I continued home (well almost) to Toronto. I arrived home on Saturday and have spent the last few days catching up on laundry and sleep. It's still very strange to look at the clock at 4 in the afternoon and feel like it's 11pm.

I still can't believe it's all over. What an incredible adventure! Although frustrating at times, overall my 2 months in Africa were amazing. From the people we met to the work we did it’s definitely something I’ll never forget. I have so many pictures and stories and memories to share so if you would like to see and hear more I’m at home for the summer and would be happy to get together. Thank you everyone for following my adventure- hope the writing wasn’t too painful to read! Until next time, kwaheri, asante sana ~ Michelle

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb