Road Trip - Laziness in Ottawa


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
July 30th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ottawa River CabinOttawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin

Greatest invention ever: the hammock
Not much of a super entry for this leg of my road trip vacation, this is more is a recap of me being a lazy blob. So don't expect any cool sites. If you want them, browse back in my travelblog for Ottawa stuff.

Wow what an incredibly long road trip. 15 hours straight and four provinces crossed. Besides all the pretty sites you can see when taking a long road trip, and the endless playing of metal music, I don't think I'll do that long of a trip in one day again. Made good time though!

Started off in good ol Nova Scotia at some ungodly time in the morning and drove down to the ferry. Booted it over to New Brunswick and then sped right through to Quebec. Took a nice scenic route away from Montreal (since the gay pride parade was on and it would have been wall to wall cars), and finally arrived in Ottawa. Well Nepeon or Barrhaven or whatever it is actually called where my Aunt and Uncle live.

Ahhhh Ottawa. Well suburbia is more like it. A perfect place to chill out and relax and do absolutely nothing. So for the
Artsy foto #3871Artsy foto #3871Artsy foto #3871

Picture of some little stream off this rest stop in New Brunswick
first couple of days, the highlights were drinking with my cousin and his friends, playing poker (and losing), and golfing at a very spiffy place called the Highlands. Wow I suck, I have to get out more than I usually do.

One night was spent at a beautiful restaurant called Fiamma that had some amazing calamari and a to die for Italian pizza. Oh and the probably the most gorgeous server I've ever seen. Woohoo she was a beaut 😊

It was then off to the cabin for a couple days out on the Ottawa River on the Quebec side. I love it here and I haven't been there since a few years. Total laziness of epic proportions! Did nothing but swim, lay in a hammock, play gameboy and eat junk food. This is the life I strive for and want everyday. There were these cute little fishies in the water that followed me when I went snorkeling too. Not a lot of people were out either which was nice, besides the lovely nude sunbather next door. I have to head back soon.

On the way back into Ottawa, I went back to this Fiamma restaurant. Solely
New BrunswickNew BrunswickNew Brunswick

Picture taken from the car, somewhere in New Brunswick
for the food....uhuh. Seriously though, anybody looking for yummy food should go to this hole in the wall place. The wine is very tasty as well. After another lovely night of sitting in a hot tub and wondering if I should quit my job and relax like this forever, the trip had to continue onwards to Montreal where I had a wedding to attend too.

Hmmmm, I'll update all the Quebec/Montreal stuff in the next entry. Too much fun stuff and strip clubs and stuff to talk about...


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

New BrunswickNew Brunswick
New Brunswick

Another shot of the New Brunswick countryside
Quebec Quebec
Quebec

Was at a reststop and took this
Quebec Quebec
Quebec

Another reststop on the way to Montreal
GolfcourseGolfcourse
Golfcourse

Highlands golfcourse. No pictures of me since they would be incriminating.
GolfcourseGolfcourse
Golfcourse

My ball went way in the woods to the right
Ottawa RiverOttawa River
Ottawa River

Nowhere near the cabin, just some random pics
Ottawa RiverOttawa River
Ottawa River

Another random pic of the river
Ottawa RiverOttawa River
Ottawa River

Rich people living across the river
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

This is the view every morning :)
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

A little mini island right by the cabin
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

Some guy speeding off in a boat
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

Me after a dip in the warm clear waters
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

I like sunsets
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

Spoooooky dock at night, but the water is still warm!
Ottawa River CabinOttawa River Cabin
Ottawa River Cabin

Me being silly
Ottawa CityOttawa City
Ottawa City

View from parlement
FiammaFiamma
Fiamma

Go here for good food and beautiful servers
Me and my cousinMe and my cousin
Me and my cousin

James and James :P


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb