Gear planning for Shikoku o-henro


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
December 12th 2012
Published: December 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The plan is to have the whole pack and worn gear down to under 9Kg. As ultralight as possible to make the walking easier and much less stresful. While I will stay mostly in Minshukos or temples I hope to camp out as much as is convenient as it is a good way to meet people and get a great rest.

The Big Three

So the big three items are already decided - tiny tent, mec down sleeping bag and Osprey Talon 44 pack.

I just sleep so much better with a pillow so I will bring the little Thermarest one I have.

NeoAir pad for comfort. I had great results with it in the Yukon and it weighs almost nothing.

Clothes

Add the minimal layered clothing of three base layers, two mids and one warm and I should be toasty or cool as needed. It just may rain so a jacket that covers both wind and rain plus ultralight rain pants are in for sure. Hat and necker to keep off the sun or wind. Of course there will be the jacket for the walk from the first temple and a hat and walking stick. I will probably bring hiking poles as they really aid in efficiency and most long hikers tell me they love having them.

Footwear

My keen hikers are almost done so a pair of ultralight Salomons or such will be found in the coming days. Every gram off the feet transfers to easier hiking but I need good cushioning to protect my Sesimoid bones.

Cookset

Tiny pocket rocket and cookset to eat and cook as needed make it possible to just stop and have a meal anywhere.

Toiletries

Toiletries and meds down to minimums - most people bring too much of this stuff.

Of course technology is needed so I hope to get a data and voice sim card for my Galaxy # so I can blog and more. Maybe a gps but only if weight allows at the end. No camera as the Galaxy is adequate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb