June 27th on Ottawa


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
June 27th 2009
Published: June 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Ottawa

The weather is great, the sights are great adn the comapny is fantastic. I arrived around midnight all my gear intact, Marie picked me up from the airport. It was a genuine pleasure to finally meet her after having talked for so long on nexopia. We enjoyed a few drinks on this wicked rooftop patio, and then called it a night.

As I was arriving so late I decided to hotel it for the first night well marie did I decided it was time for a late dinner of smoked meat and poutine I probably should have waited till montreal for that. The hotel was old but nice I got a freaking apartment for 90 a night, though I was there for 11 hours or so. The 45 minute walk to my hostel was enjoyable until it began to rain and i had to put my coat on and cover up my bag, thank god for the court house with the covered entry way. I had lunch in this authentic italian deli, the owner was really nice adn recommended a few restaurants to try while I am here.

I settled into my hostel it's nice 50" tv and all the owner is awesome, my own complaint is the lack of fans or AC, 30 degrees is hard to sleep in. I am sharing a room with 2 German girls they're really nice adn havn'e complained about my snoring yet, but I haven't really got my drink on yet either.

Marie and I saw year 1, very funny much better than it looked in the previews. We then had a huge thing of fajitas so good but I was so full I wasn't hungry this morning lol. She called it a night and I went exploring downtown, lots to see tons going on eventually I settled in this bar it had 3 levels 1 pub 1 live music and 1 hiphop; I obviously chose the live music and hung out with some nice colledge girls from Toronto we listend and danced to country music for hours. The beer was cheap and people were buying rounds so it was all good.


As for adjusting to the travelers life My backpack is heavy, and will take some getting used to, but all the walking I am getting in will be good as I have let myself get out of shape as of late. I am not packing cotton on my big trip I am constantly doing laundry to keep things fresh and it is to much work to dry all that.

Well off to shower I'll post again in a day or two.
Jimmy

Advertisement



6th July 2009

Happy Canada Day
Hey Jim, we are so happy to hear that your first adventure has turned out so awesome. May this trend of positive experiences continue. When we did our trip for 1 1/2 years the blogs did not exist. We have kept our journals and really enjoy reviewing them. Hopefully this will be a legacy of adventures ahead. I bet your french is improving with every passing day. love ya!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb