An Expensive, but Exciting Week


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Mississauga
December 13th 2011
Published: December 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My Flights are Booked!My Flights are Booked!My Flights are Booked!

I'll be taking a Boeing 767 to and from Seoul.
Travelling sure gets expensive...and I haven't even left yet!

This past week definitely added up financially. I went to my local travel clinic for a consultation. The doctor was great. I would highly recommend him for anyone looking for a travel clinic in the GTA. I was originally going to go to this travel clinic, but they are next to impossible to get a hold of in person! Their website is very useful though. I was given an immunization, an oral vaccine to take at home, and a prescription for some (expensive) traveller's diarrhea and anti-malaria drugs. All that combined cost nearly $400. Yikes! I could fly from Bangkok to Mumbai for less than that!

In more exciting news, my contract has changed. It was extended. I am now working a four week camp instead of a three week one. In actuality, it is only three days longer, and I get one more day off. I get paid more for this contract too, which is a bonus. I will now be working with older students (most likely high school age), whose English is more advanced. It'll be more like teaching English, rather than ESL, from what I can tell. I picked up some pins from my MP, MPP and town hall yesterday for my students. I would like to bring them something Canadian as well. I have maple sugar candies, but am trying to think of something else fun or delicious.

Second, our Korean Work Visa is ready for us. Now onwards to the other consulates for processing!

My other news is that I officially have my flights to and from Korea booked. I now know where I'm sitting on each of my flights. I'm in the middle seat on my way to Korea. Boo. At least I'm sitting next to Griff for that flight. I have a window seat for the way back though!

I leave in just less than two weeks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb