Goodbye Family - Hello Camping!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kingston
June 25th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our Cross-Canada Journey


Wow... Saying goodbye was HARD! It's the first time I've ever left the family and my little doggies for so long. Sleepaway camp was the longest I've ever left and even then, it wasn't quite as long.

I was almost a little kid again, going away to summer camp, standing there and bawling my eyes out. It was a happy moment though, we knew we had so much ahead of us!

The drive here to Kingston wasn't so bad, a mere 3 hours. We both drove and got used to driving with the trailer (nickname; RoTraily). The hard part was getting here at 10:30PM in TOTAL DARKNESS. Up until this point, I never envisioned the campgrounds being quite as dark. We couldn't see a single thing and the mosquitoes were EVERYWHERE.

Luckily, things went pretty well considering. Good thing we got some practice popping her up in my dad's parking lot LOL! We did run into a couple of issues, but we got 'er done and in a timely matter too.

The first night went pretty smoothly until about 8:00AM... I'm there just snoozing away and then suddenly, I wake up to the MOST extreme heat I have ever felt. And believe me, I've felt some heat!!! I guess the Pop-Up was positioned in direct sunlight, and as the sun rose, it was literally cooking us! I mean, I knew it would be hot without an air conditioner, but it literally felt like a sauna in there. Going outside in 30 degrees temperature actually felt like we were cooling down. It was unbelievable!

But all in all, we were happy and so excited to finally be on the road!

We had a great first day! We went on the 1000 Islands Cruise which was pretty cool and informative. We got to learn a lot about the city and Canadian history.

We were both very impressed with Kingston and definitely plan on coming back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb