Time to go Home :(


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Brampton
August 4th 2014
Published: August 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Woke up on my last day and said goodbye to the people I had met over the last few days. Some of them were leaving today while others had more time in New Orleans. My flight didn't leave until 5pm so I had a bit of time. I headed into town one last time to try a gator burger and get last minute gifts and souvenirs.

I got advise from Lisa yesterday that you can get gator burgers in the French Market. I hadn't been there yet so I wandered along the river to get there. Gator burger was good and was actually mostly pork because gator meat does not become burger meat easily. After eating I managed to get my customary magnets and keychain at the French Market. I got some chocolates and pralines at the Southern Candy company. That candy shop makes most of their candies in the store. The ladies there were nice enough to give me more samples and a 10 percent discount.

I got back to the hostel and I will say the India House Hostel runs a nice place and I would recommend it to anyone going to New Orleans. I was so impressed that I gave a box of mixed candy to Melissa who worked there to be shared amongst the staff. I will also say about the staff they keep the place clean and they interact with the guests as well because they quite often stayed at India House previously. Melissa was one of those staff member who interacted with guests and I will say Melissa was my favourite staff member because she was just so interesting and I was not the only person who had that opinion. 😉. I hope the staff enjoys the candies, they certainly deserved it.

I left at 1PM and walked to the bus stop. It was a boiling day and I was in rough shape by the time I got to bus stop but thankfully the bus was air conditioned. I checked into my flight and there was a offer to take a flight the next morning for $150 voucher. I declined because I had to work the next day. Flight to JFK was uneventful and it was only a slight delay once I got to JFK. Flight from JFK to Buffalo got in around 11:40PM which was late but not terrible. Got my car out of parking and drove back to Canada. I was prepared for an interrogation by the Canadian border officials but the official I got seemed bored and after asking me one or two questions just waved me through.

I pulled back into my apartment complex at almost 2AM and promptly fell asleep in my bed.

New Orleans was fun but I will say it was probably an one off trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb