Hello Halifax . . .


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
July 4th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am in Halifax.

I'm taking a vacation. I've only just arrived, checked in, walked briefly, had some dinner. I sat down for dinner at a waterfront restaurant. And already I loved it.

It seems a bit crazy that I've only just come home after most of the year away and already I'm off again. But this is different. I'm not working. I have nothing to do but explore and visit and enjoy. And it's so good for me. It's what I really need.

There is a thick mist, a fog, hanging over the entire city. Flying in it was actually kind of scary. We were above the clouds, then in them and it seemed like we were still in the clouds way up high except suddenly there was land!

The landscape, the weather, already I can see why the Scottish settlers felt at home living here. But I am most definitely in Canada. And I lvoe it. I love the Tim Hortons on the corners, the Canadian flags, the Federal government signs. I lvoe that I am in my country, but seeing part of it I haven't seen. It has been so long since I've "discovered" a new part of Canada. I spent plenty of time bouncing around Niagara, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec City and all sorts of rural towns with my tour guiding work. I've never stopped appreciating and admiring the multi-faces of our country. But there's something special about feeling the excitement of seeing somehwere new while also feeling the comfort of still being at home.

After dinner I strolled some more. Now I'm just relaxing in the hostel. Tomorrow I'm going to really hit up the city and do some serious sight-seeing. And tomorrow evening I'll be hanging out with Alycia!

Yes, this vacation is definitely good for me. Already my spirits are lifting . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Split Crow TavernSplit Crow Tavern
Split Crow Tavern

I think I'm going to end up back here . . .


10th July 2009

The harbour walk is lovely. Glad you had some time for you. Looking forward to camp SUPER soon!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb