It's Turkey Day!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
October 10th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Thanksgiving!
Lounging, chatting and eating!
Not much to do day...

Well, being miserable outside is not very welcoming, so I pretty much stayed inside most of the day other than the quick trip over to the Tim Horton's for a bite to eat and then it was pretty much back to the TV/Common room at the hostel. While watching lots of TV, I also worked on my cross stitch. Yup, I think this is the only time I've really pulled it out and worked on it. Well, I think I may have briefly pulled it out once when I was back in Vietnam but that was months ago!

It started off as a movie sort of day. We started watching "Taking Care of Business" with James Belushi and Charles Grodin. Then it was "Trading Places" with Eddie Murphy and Dan Ackroyd. What a classic! Great laughs. After two movies we switched to some re-runs of TV sitcoms like Becker, Cosby and Seinfeld. Throughout the afternoon people kept coming and going. And me working on my cross stitch, it is a great conversation starter.

By 6:30, the smells coming from the kitchen were just overwhelming. The hostel was putting on a Turkey dinner for only $5. And boy was it delish. Of course there was turkey, stuffing, veggies, buns and salads. It was really crowded with everyone just milling about. After a while I got tired of being social and retreated to my room. My three other dorm mates, Tara, Janelle and her mother Carol were already there. They'd had enough of the crowds too. I guess as I get older I like the crowds less and less. lol

We ended up chatting for quite a while. Turns out they'll be starting the six day Salty Bear trip tomorrow. I'm still disappointed in missing out on the last two days. 😞 Anyhoo, these girls are from the Melbourne area and have been working the summer up in Banff. Jannelle tells me the population in summer swells to something like 400,000 and the regular population only something like 4000. I don't know how acccurate that is but that's crazy! Anyhoo, they're on a round the world ticket too since it was cheaper than a return Melbourne-Vancouver ticket. After checking out Atlantic and Central Canada they'll head back to Vancouver, go down to Seattle for US Thanksgiving and then fly to NYC and then London and Greece. Carol will only be around for the Canadian bit. It was so cute. I said that I couldn't imagine my mom staying at a hostel and then she pipes up that this was her first time too! She told me that when they came in last night around midnight that she was so nervous! lol I guess I'm just used to living in hostels now which also made me think of what I miss about home...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb