The Return


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Dartmouth
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well gang I have to start by saying, that anyone I have talked to, who has visited Thailand wants to go back, I am no exception. As a result of being officially retired and having an understanding family I am getting to do just that. I leave on August 25th for Bangkok. I will have about a week to settle back in. On September 5th at 8am sharp, I am told, I start a TESL Course at a school called Chichester College, a branch of the school by the same name, from Southern England. The course is a four week intensive training for people wanting to teach English as a second language. There are hardly any gurantees in this life, except for the two we all know, but at the end of this course a job is a good possibility, this school is well recognized. Any job posting I have seen notes that this course is a requirement and that it must have been taken at a recognized school then they list the schools, this is always their number one choice.

In addition to the course we will be given sessions on basic Thai language and Thai culture, the benefits of doing the course in the country where you want to teach. The days will start at 8 am and go to 6pm with some evening classes. Most days will have an in the class hands on component. I have spoken to the school many times over the last few months and I am most impressed with a guy called Joseph. He has been most helpful. He even spoke to the Thai Consulate in Toronto for me smoothing the way for me to get a non-immigrant visa, the first step in getting a working permit. The plan is to try for a six month contract after the course, if I pass! and if anybody wants me.

The one joke around the hosue here is that dad avoided ties and suits whenever he could. Teaching is a honored profession in Thailand and to give it the due respect, all male teachers must wear long sleeve shirts and ties!! Average temperature 32 degrees......

This is an early submission to the blog becasue in two days we are off to Ottawa and Toronto and then I will be home only a couple of days before I leave. Next post will be enroute! Take care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb