21 Days in Newfoundland - Day 8: King's Cove Lighthouse Trail, Tickle Cove, Walkers Trail, Bonavista, Cape Shore Trail


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Newfoundland & Labrador » Bonavista
September 14th 2017
Published: September 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day 8 started with a drive to King's Cove to hike the LIghthouse Trail. The fifth straight day of rain made the trails a tad wet but during the actual walk it was only "misting". I took the short inner loop of 1.7 km which of course takes you to the King's Cove Lighthouse. Actually it was kind of a boring trail, walking through forest with little coastal views except at the lighthouse. Following this, I drove toTickle Cove just to take a picture of the name. Actually, I did bump into the Walkers Trail while there which I took for a km or so just to give a tad more creedence to my visit. Off to Bonavista to check into my hostel and around four I started the Cape Shore Trail. This is a 3 km trail to the Bonavista Lighthouse, entirely hugging the coast of Bonavista Bay. Since it was raining again now, and quite windy, I hiked an hour in total just to say I experienced the trail. It would be a lovely trail on a nice summer day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Wilson along the Cape Shore TrailWilson along the Cape Shore Trail
Wilson along the Cape Shore Trail

Is that a message in a bottle?


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb